Videopac / Odyssey2 forum

Videopac / Odyssey2 => Hardware => Topic started by: Blueleader on July 07, 2014, 06:40:02 PM



Title: Problems with C7010 Chess and G7000 RGB Mod?
Post by: Blueleader on July 07, 2014, 06:40:02 PM
When i tried it, there was a problem show the symbols.
On my G7000 with RGB-Mod the Chessboard is slightly trembling (like the Air on a hot sunny day) and the Chess symbols are not shown correct.

On my G7400, also RGB, the symbols shown correct. Also when i plug in the G7000 with RF out.

Anyone idea what it can be?
Thank you!

(http://www.mindworx.at/Videopac/7010kl2.jpg) (http://www.mindworx.at/Videopac/7010kl.jpg)
Klick on Image for a larger Picture


Title: Re: Problems with C7010 Chess and G7000 RGB Mod?
Post by: gertk on July 08, 2014, 07:50:10 AM
Seems you are missing the luminance signal on the RGB modded G7000, the signal coming out of pin 10 of the 8245


Title: Re: Problems with C7010 Chess and G7000 RGB Mod?
Post by: Blueleader on July 08, 2014, 04:13:12 PM
Thank you!
I checked Cable and soldering but all is fine.

I tested with cable disconnected from pin 10 but there is no difference in chess.
The only difference is, in the "Select Game" screen a grey block is moving vertical when pin 10 isn't connected to the RGB Board. Sso it seems the luminance signal is there and it's not the reason for the problem.  :(


Title: Re: Problems with C7010 Chess and G7000 RGB Mod?
Post by: gertk on July 08, 2014, 06:28:34 PM
Thank you!
I checked Cable and soldering but all is fine.

I tested with cable disconnected from pin 10 but there is no difference in chess.
The only difference is, in the "Select Game" screen a grey block is moving vertical when pin 10 isn't connected to the RGB Board. Sso it seems the luminance signal is there and it's not the reason for the problem.  :(

The fact that the pieces are not visible on the white squares contradicts this... :-)
Do you have a circuit diagram for your rgb mod ?


Title: Re: Problems with C7010 Chess and G7000 RGB Mod?
Post by: Blueleader on July 08, 2014, 06:41:25 PM
I only have this Link (http://circuit-board.de/forum/index.php/Thread/13153-TUT-Philips-G7000-RGB-Umbau-mit-Donkings-Umbaukit/).

I Did it like described in this tutorial.

The console in the last post is mine  :)

In one picture, the yellow dot is set wrong on PIN 7 but i did it right on PIN 8.


Title: Re: Problems with C7010 Chess and G7000 RGB Mod?
Post by: gertk on July 08, 2014, 11:49:23 PM
I only have this Link (http://circuit-board.de/forum/index.php/Thread/13153-TUT-Philips-G7000-RGB-Umbau-mit-Donkings-Umbaukit/).

I Did it like described in this tutorial.

The console in the last post is mine  :)

In one picture, the yellow dot is set wrong on PIN 7 but i did it right on PIN 8.

Resume:

If the picture is (still) OK with RF out than the Luminance signal from the 8245 (pin 10) is working,
 
If you disconnect the cable from the RGB mod board to pin 10 of the 8245 and you get a moving bar (caused by hum picked up from the mains which is getting to the high impendance inputs of the HC chips) then the RGB board seems to work OK too..

If you connect the cable to +5 Volt then all RGB output should be 'bright', if connected to GND all RGB output should be normal.

So as far as I can see, the only thing left is that the cable is not connected to the right pin of the 8245...  :)



Title: Re: Problems with C7010 Chess and G7000 RGB Mod?
Post by: Blueleader on July 09, 2014, 05:11:58 AM
This is how i've connected the pins.

Brown is Audio-Pin 27 and Purple Luminance-Pin 10

(http://www.mindworx.at/Videopac/IMG_3831k.jpg) (http://www.mindworx.at/Videopac/IMG_3831.jpg)

Do i understand right, i should  connect the purple wire to +5V and then GND to test?


Title: Re: Problems with C7010 Chess and G7000 RGB Mod?
Post by: gertk on July 09, 2014, 07:32:11 AM
Well, that seems to be the correct pin.. Hmm... 

The wire from the RGB board to pin 34 of the CPU is that connected to the right pin ? This is the 'enable bright'  (8048/34 pad on the RGB board. The Luminance signal is logically AND-ed with the signal from CPU pin 34)



Title: Re: Problems with C7010 Chess and G7000 RGB Mod?
Post by: TedFoolery on July 09, 2014, 03:53:52 PM
Is the problem only in Chess? I had a similar issue with my odyssey2. The brightness flickered for a bit (all games), but then it got stuck off permanently. The problem was the 8244 chip itself. I fortunately had parts-unit and was able to swap the chips. Fixed.


Title: Re: Problems with C7010 Chess and G7000 RGB Mod?
Post by: Blueleader on July 09, 2014, 04:28:37 PM
Well, that seems to be the correct pin.. Hmm... 

The wire from the RGB board to pin 34 of the CPU is that connected to the right pin ? This is the 'enable bright'  (8048/34 pad on the RGB board. The Luminance signal is logically AND-ed with the signal from CPU pin 34)



YOU MADE MY DAY!

Cable was not soldered on PIN 34 but PIN 27 because Pins where countet from the wrong side.  ???
Sometimes it needs a little help when the brain has a break.  :D

I hope that nothing was damaged but it seems all to be OK.


Is the problem only in Chess? I had a similar issue with my odyssey2. The brightness flickered for a bit (all games), but then it got stuck off permanently. The problem was the 8244 chip itself. I fortunately had parts-unit and was able to swap the chips. Fixed.
I only noticed it in chess. I think because the hard contrast black/white squares. But now with the correct PIN it works great.


(http://www.mindworx.at/Videopac/7010OK.jpg)


Title: Re: Problems with C7010 Chess and G7000 RGB Mod?
Post by: gertk on July 09, 2014, 07:33:29 PM
Great!  :) very cool you got it working.