Videopac / Odyssey2 forum

Programming the Videopac / Odyssey2 => Programming => Topic started by: Rafael on December 20, 2017, 05:06:17 PM



Title: PAL, NTSC and PAL-M
Post by: Rafael on December 20, 2017, 05:06:17 PM
Well, I'm working on a game where supposedly an object should pass on the 1st line of the grid. I did the tests here and everything (for now) worked out. In my thoughts I always thought that if this worked on our PAL-M system, that would work in the American NTSC. Watching Marc's video  ( http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pWfsNiSS7D8&t=10s ), it seems that in the NTSC system the grid occupies the entire screen, is that right?





Title: Re: PAL, NTSC and PAL-M
Post by: manopac on December 23, 2017, 02:32:38 PM
the area the grid occupies is the same - the difference is, that the picture looks "stretched" because the NTSC system has less raster lines (in the PAL system the "extra" area is just blanked out, and gives you more time for calculations than on an NTSC system - but you know that ;-) its extra information for everyone else reading this topic)


Title: Re: PAL, NTSC and PAL-M
Post by: Rafael on December 24, 2017, 04:05:48 PM
I think the emulator could bring these functions ...It would be possible?