Videopac / Odyssey2 forum
February 22, 2019, 12:01:53 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Join Rafael's Haunted Woods contest and win a copy of the game!
 
   Home   arcade Help Login Register links videopac.nl  
Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: THE VOICE module inside the G7400 ?  (Read 10139 times)
VideopacBelgium
Totally devoted to Videopac
*******
Posts: 1607



« on: May 12, 2009, 10:11:06 PM »

Dear Rene !
I've just bought The Voice module but I've a G7400 (with great RGB output!).
Is it easy to connect or insert The Voice module inside the G7400?
Do you have a tutorial or some informations?
Can we mix The Voice's sound with G7400's sound to audio outputs?
Thanks a lot.
Logged

Videopac digger
Rene_G7400
Pedit5
I take the Videopac and leave the Canoli!
*
Posts: 2519



WWW
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2009, 03:22:45 PM »

Is it easy to connect or insert The Voice module inside the G7400?

That depends on how much experience you have. For a beginner it won't be easy, but for someone with some experience in electronics and soldering, it is not very difficult.

Do you have a tutorial or some informations?

I don't have detailed instructions, but I will help you if you want to try it.

Can we mix The Voice's sound with G7400's sound to audio outputs?

Yes, that's what I have done.

The Voice module needs the following input signals:
- address lines A0 - A7
- data line D5
- P14 (I/O pin of 8048)
- WR (write signal of 8048)
- power supply +5V and GND

As the 6810 chip inside the Videopac console needs all of these signals too, I've put a connector with a flatcable at the backside of this chip.

The sound output is mixed with the normal sound with a simple resistor.

The "ready" output of the Voice module should be connected to the T0 input of the 8048. But since the C7420 Basic module and Soeren's RAMcart also need this input, I've added a circuit which automatically switches the "ready" output of the Voice off when the T0 input is needed by a cartridge. This circuit mainly consists of two 74LS00 IC's.
As a few games contain bugs which cause the Voice to make unwanted sounds, I've added a switch to this circuit to be able to switch the Voice off.


« Last Edit: May 09, 2010, 11:05:14 PM by Rene_G7400 » Logged
VideopacBelgium
Totally devoted to Videopac
*******
Posts: 1607



« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2009, 11:29:45 PM »

Hi Ren?! Thanks for your answer and informations.
I have enough experience in electricity and soldering but not enough in electronics or data chips but I would like to try to connect it.
I shall receive "The Voice" in 3 weeks. Would you please give me more pictures or schemas? Thanks.
Logged

Videopac digger
Rene_G7400
Pedit5
I take the Videopac and leave the Canoli!
*
Posts: 2519



WWW
« Reply #3 on: May 23, 2009, 01:16:56 AM »

Would you please give me more pictures or schemas?

Sure. Do you want to build the automatic T0-switch circuit I've described above? (The small PCB at the bottom-right of the picture.)

Since you've already made an RGB output on your G7400, I suppose you've already got the circuit diagram of the G7400?
Logged
VideopacBelgium
Totally devoted to Videopac
*******
Posts: 1607



« Reply #4 on: May 23, 2009, 10:07:38 PM »

Hi!
Yes I would like to build the switch circuit system with the two 74LS00 IC's.
Yes, I've already got the diagrams.
Thanks for your help!
Logged

Videopac digger
VideopacBelgium
Totally devoted to Videopac
*******
Posts: 1607



« Reply #5 on: May 28, 2009, 09:21:16 PM »

Hi Rene,
I've already receive my module "The Voice" from Canada (really quick shipping: 13 days from Quebec to Belgium). It works great with my G7000, it's very funny.
Logged

Videopac digger
Rene_G7400
Pedit5
I take the Videopac and leave the Canoli!
*
Posts: 2519



WWW
« Reply #6 on: May 29, 2009, 10:38:38 PM »

Do you still want to build it into your G7400, or do you want to keep it like it is?
(I had bought a second Voice module before building one into my G7400.)
Logged
Rene_G7400
Pedit5
I take the Videopac and leave the Canoli!
*
Posts: 2519



WWW
« Reply #7 on: May 30, 2009, 12:08:05 AM »

This is the circuit diagram of the T0-switch circuit. More info will follow later.

http://home.kpn.nl/~mdr.vd.enden/download/t0-switch.gif
« Last Edit: May 09, 2010, 11:05:54 PM by Rene_G7400 » Logged
VideopacBelgium
Totally devoted to Videopac
*******
Posts: 1607



« Reply #8 on: May 30, 2009, 02:10:21 AM »

Hi! Thanks for all infos.
Yes I still want to build it into my G7400, I'll buy a second Voice Module to keep it like it is.
Logged

Videopac digger
Rene_G7400
Pedit5
I take the Videopac and leave the Canoli!
*
Posts: 2519



WWW
« Reply #9 on: May 30, 2009, 11:31:41 PM »

OK, I've compiled some information for building the Voice module into the G7400:

http://www.ozyr.com/rene/MODS/voice-mod.txt
http://www.ozyr.com/rene/MODS/g7400_voice-pcb-mod.jpg
http://www.ozyr.com/rene/MODS/G7400_PCB2-voice.jpg
http://www.ozyr.com/rene/MODS/G7400_PCB1-voice.jpg
http://www.ozyr.com/rene/MODS/T0-switch.gif
Logged
Sweersa
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1059


« Reply #10 on: June 07, 2009, 01:01:41 AM »

That is awesome, I always wondered, what is your occupation Rene?  You seem to be a genius at electronics so I imagine it is something of that nature.
Logged
Rene_G7400
Pedit5
I take the Videopac and leave the Canoli!
*
Posts: 2519



WWW
« Reply #11 on: June 07, 2009, 01:41:13 AM »

Electronics has always been my hobby, so my education was electronics too.
My job is DVD and Blu-ray encoding and authoring. (Before that it was VideoCD and Cd-i encoding and authoring.)
Logged
VideopacBelgium
Totally devoted to Videopac
*******
Posts: 1607



« Reply #12 on: June 07, 2009, 01:44:01 AM »

Hi!
Yes, Rene is a genius!
Could you please give me one last information about the "audio out" from the voice module: the 330R resistor must be soldered on + or - of the condenser? I'll spend all the night to built-in the voice module! Tests and pictures tomorrow.
Logged

Videopac digger
Sweersa
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1059


« Reply #13 on: June 07, 2009, 03:09:47 PM »

Electronics has always been my hobby, so my education was electronics too.
My job is DVD and Blu-ray encoding and authoring. (Before that it was VideoCD and Cd-i encoding and authoring.)


Wow, very cool!  What software do you usually use for such if you don't mind me asking?
Logged
Rene_G7400
Pedit5
I take the Videopac and leave the Canoli!
*
Posts: 2519



WWW
« Reply #14 on: June 07, 2009, 10:23:38 PM »

What software do you usually use for such if you don't mind me asking?

For DVD and Blu-ray authoring I use Scenarist from Sonic. For Blu-ray encoding I use Cinevision (also from Sonic). For DVD authoring and encoding I also use DVD Maestro from Spruce, but that's not being sold anymore.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!