Videopac / Odyssey2 forum
July 28, 2017, 01:09:58 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Al lot of attachments from Nov 2011 till april 2012 are damaged. Please ask the original poster to re-upload if you need them.
 
   Home   arcade Help Login Register links videopac.nl  
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: RGB for ODYSSEY 2  (Read 9668 times)
VideopacBelgium
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1447



« on: August 28, 2009, 09:16:08 PM »

Hi!
How to get the sync on the Odyssey2 ?
I connect my RGB pcb on the Odyssey2 but the screen is not fix !
The video chip is a P8244 into the Odyssey2 and a P8245 into the Videopac.
Can I connect the "L" at PIN 10?

http://www.ddrbelgium.eu/ODYSSEY2RGB.jpg



Can I get the sync for RGB at the video pin from the rf?
« Last Edit: August 31, 2009, 12:08:27 AM by VIDEOPAKBELGIUM » Logged

Videopac digger
Rene_G7400
I'd sell my mother for a Videopac
********
Posts: 2465



WWW
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2009, 09:48:07 PM »

You should take the Sync signal from pin 5 of the 8244.
Logged
VideopacBelgium
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1447



« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2009, 11:57:09 PM »

Hi!
Thanks for your help ! It works !

The game runs more faster on the Odyssey2 than the Videopac !
However, the screen seems to be 16/9 on the Odyssey2 ...

 
            Odyssey2 RGB                                         Videopac RGB
« Last Edit: September 14, 2009, 10:11:13 PM by VIDEOPAKBELGIUM » Logged

Videopac digger
Sweersa
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1053


« Reply #3 on: August 31, 2009, 04:59:02 AM »

Interesting on the aspect ratio, looks like the TV just stretched it after looking at the circle part of the worm.
Logged
TedFoolery
Played Munchkin once...
**
Posts: 66


« Reply #4 on: August 31, 2009, 10:41:27 PM »

I think it's the fact that the O2 is NTSC, so it's only producing 525 scanlines, but the monitor is a PAL with 625. There's probably 50 extra scanlines on the top and bottom.

I don't think the image is stretched horizontally, it's squeezed vertically.

Just guessing.
Logged
Sweersa
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1053


« Reply #5 on: September 01, 2009, 03:12:29 AM »

That also makes sense.
Logged
VideopacBelgium
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1447



« Reply #6 on: September 01, 2009, 02:34:16 PM »

Hi!
I'll try to plug the O2 into a LCD TV and the Videopac to compare !
I don't know if the 16/9 effect with the O2 was due to my TV or not? My TV is a Philips Matchline 100Hz.
Maybe, a signal on the RGB scart commute the TV to 16/9?
However, all games run faster on the O2 than the Videopac !

Maybe Rene knows what we known't?
Logged

Videopac digger
Rene_G7400
I'd sell my mother for a Videopac
********
Posts: 2465



WWW
« Reply #7 on: September 01, 2009, 03:41:34 PM »

It's normal that games run faster on the Odyssey2: the speed of a game is determined by the frame rate of the console. Odyssey2 consoles have a frame rate of 60 frames per second, Videopac consoles have a frame rate of 50 frame per second.

It's not normal that the picture of the Odyssey2 is squeezed vertically, it should be the other way around: it should be streched vertically compared to a PAL picture. A Videopac console always gives a "Letterbox" picture, because it has 50 extra blanked lines. Odyssey2 consoles don't have that, so you should have a full-screen picture. (Try it with a game with a non-black background color.)
Logged
Sweersa
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1053


« Reply #8 on: September 01, 2009, 07:00:00 PM »

Sometimes TVs have various screen mode settings that can be tampered with or changed to get different results. 
Logged
Ozyr
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1476


Packrat Video Games


david.flemming.9
WWW
« Reply #9 on: September 02, 2009, 09:03:31 PM »

Man that looks really nice. Wish I had got my video conversion working (have given up for now - till I find a better transistor for it).
Logged

VideopacBelgium
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1447



« Reply #10 on: September 03, 2009, 01:20:21 AM »

Hi!
Rene, you're right ! The O2 screen is streched vertically compared to a PAL picture.
The problem was my TV. On my RGB pcb, I connect the cvbs from the 12v of the external power supply. However, I've not the original power supply of the 02 and I connect another one. This power supply was a 8 volts AC and can't supply a good tension to CVBS. My TV Matchline strangely commute on RGB 16/9 ! Now I connect a 12v AC supply and it works !


            Odyssey 2 RGB final                          Videopac

So, a new question: Can I modify the speed of the Videopac frame rate as same as the 02 ?
Logged

Videopac digger
Rene_G7400
I'd sell my mother for a Videopac
********
Posts: 2465



WWW
« Reply #11 on: September 03, 2009, 09:19:19 AM »

Can I modify the speed of the Videopac frame rate as same as the 02 ?

NO!
Logged
Sweersa
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1053


« Reply #12 on: September 03, 2009, 05:28:46 PM »

Can I modify the speed of the Videopac frame rate as same as the 02 ?

NO!


Don't they sell (expensive) PAl to NTSC converters?
Logged
Rene_G7400
I'd sell my mother for a Videopac
********
Posts: 2465



WWW
« Reply #13 on: September 03, 2009, 06:40:22 PM »

Don't they sell (expensive) PAl to NTSC converters?

They do, but that doesn't change anything to the speed of the game.
Logged
ANDYRYALS
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1297


Oh Bollocks can I afford that Ebay item?


« Reply #14 on: September 05, 2009, 10:41:51 AM »

Rene,

is is possible to get an NTSC to PAL converter? My idea being i would like one fitted to my atari 2600 and then i could play all the american NTSC games which are released on homebrew??

Andy
Logged

I have 12"
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!