Videopac / Odyssey2 forum
November 22, 2019, 08:35:27 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: If you have some news and you want it to be shown here, pm Janzl!
 
   Home   arcade Help Login Register links videopac.nl  
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Q*Bert  (Read 11100 times)
Janzl
Administrator
I'd sell my mother for a Videopac
*****
Posts: 2329


I now can cross that bloody street...


facebook@janzl.com
WWW
« on: November 10, 2009, 10:29:40 AM »

Today, Q*Bert is released for the forum arcade. It proved some challenges to program but I guess I did it.  Grin

Many thanks to Ren? who hacked a Q*Bert bin for o2em giving me infinite lives and making it very easy for me to see what happens during each level.

I hope everyone will give it a try and please let me know how you like Q*Bert. Any feedback is welcome!

Have fun!

Janzl
Logged

Ne tirez pas sur le administrator!
Rafael
Pedit5
I'd sell my mother for a Videopac
*
Posts: 2498



« Reply #1 on: November 10, 2009, 12:33:50 PM »

You could named it as Ro-bert. Very nice work and can someone to break my record Cheesy
Logged
grgh
I'd sell my mother for a Videopac
********
Posts: 2279


Freedom Fighter academy dropout


george.r.g.hayward
WWW
« Reply #2 on: November 10, 2009, 01:41:14 PM »

That is a good idea, I think R*bert, it's like going up a release number  Smiley
Logged

http://www.videopac.com/ reborn Dec-07, forever an ongoing project.
Janzl
Administrator
I'd sell my mother for a Videopac
*****
Posts: 2329


I now can cross that bloody street...


facebook@janzl.com
WWW
« Reply #3 on: November 10, 2009, 02:19:02 PM »

 Cheesy

Yeah, I didn't think of that, maybe a new release hahaha.
Logged

Ne tirez pas sur le administrator!
Ozyr
Totally devoted to Videopac
*******
Posts: 1507


Packrat Video Games


david.flemming.9
WWW
« Reply #4 on: November 29, 2009, 12:35:38 PM »

That darn scoring bug showed up again. This time in Q*bert. I almost beat Janzl, and the score did not register at all!? What's up with that. I got over 2000+

 Angry

It doesn't happen often, but when it does.... So far in K.C. and now Q*bert.

Using I.E. 7 with X.P. Not sure what's gonig on. It registered earlier.
Logged

Ozyr
Totally devoted to Videopac
*******
Posts: 1507


Packrat Video Games


david.flemming.9
WWW
« Reply #5 on: November 29, 2009, 12:53:11 PM »

Did it again.... had 2188 as a final score. It went back to the main arcade screen, instead of the score screen. This is getting annoying. Not sure what is up, but I give up for now. No point...  Sad
Logged

Ozyr
Totally devoted to Videopac
*******
Posts: 1507


Packrat Video Games


david.flemming.9
WWW
« Reply #6 on: November 30, 2009, 06:09:03 AM »

okay. messing aroundin the arcade again. And once again, Q*bert will not score from I.E. 7 using XP!? I can score in PacMac and Asteroids, but not Q*bert (except once in a blue moon).

Guess parts of the Arcade don't like I.E. 7! Oh well... do it from home I guess.
Logged

manopac
Game & App Development
Give this man a Jopac!
*
Posts: 1122



« Reply #7 on: November 30, 2009, 10:00:46 AM »

have you tried to completly empty your cache and all temporary internet files ? might help ...
Logged

sex, lies, and videopac
Rene_G7400
Pedit5
I take the Videopac and leave the Canoli!
*
Posts: 2519



WWW
« Reply #8 on: November 30, 2009, 10:11:58 AM »

Or install a better internet browser.
Logged
Ozyr
Totally devoted to Videopac
*******
Posts: 1507


Packrat Video Games


david.flemming.9
WWW
« Reply #9 on: November 30, 2009, 04:07:47 PM »

Yeah, I tried the cache thing. Guess it may be something from where I'm playing the game. Maybe a firewall issue or such. It's just odd that it won't work in Q*bert, but does in others? Oh well... what ya gonna do.
Logged

Janzl
Administrator
I'd sell my mother for a Videopac
*****
Posts: 2329


I now can cross that bloody street...


facebook@janzl.com
WWW
« Reply #10 on: November 30, 2009, 04:44:00 PM »

Could you try it again Ozyr? I have changed the name of the game from Q*Bert to Q-Bert. Maybe the "*" could cause problems in older browsers.

Let me know if it has made any difference.
Logged

Ne tirez pas sur le administrator!
Ozyr
Totally devoted to Videopac
*******
Posts: 1507


Packrat Video Games


david.flemming.9
WWW
« Reply #11 on: December 05, 2009, 12:12:47 PM »

Could you try it again Ozyr? I have changed the name of the game from Q*Bert to Q-Bert. Maybe the "*" could cause problems in older browsers.

Let me know if it has made any difference.

Working now!? Go figure?   Huh?  Not sure why a '*' would make a difference.
Logged

Janzl
Administrator
I'd sell my mother for a Videopac
*****
Posts: 2329


I now can cross that bloody street...


facebook@janzl.com
WWW
« Reply #12 on: December 05, 2009, 07:54:49 PM »

Not sure either but we had the same problem with a  " ' " in the title of Acrobats. So I kinda figured that the "*" would be the problem here. I guess it has to the with how older browsers handle certain characters in scripts.
Logged

Ne tirez pas sur le administrator!
Seob
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1385



« Reply #13 on: December 06, 2009, 09:38:40 AM »

All the time, it was just Janzl trying to prevent somebody breaking his highscore.  Evil
Logged

8 bits of fun
Janzl
Administrator
I'd sell my mother for a Videopac
*****
Posts: 2329


I now can cross that bloody street...


facebook@janzl.com
WWW
« Reply #14 on: December 06, 2009, 11:20:49 AM »

Well, everybody I am sad to say that due to being smart Seob has been indefinately banned from this forum. As I have to cheat on the forum's arcade to get some highscores I can't use any smart people here.  Evil

Also as a "spam-filter" new members have to do an I.Q.-test. If any of them score over 56 they are automatically banned.

So this means all the rest of the current members don't have to worry  Grin Wink
Logged

Ne tirez pas sur le administrator!
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!