Videopac / Odyssey2 forum
December 08, 2019, 11:35:44 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Al lot of attachments from Nov 2011 till april 2012 are damaged. Please ask the original poster to re-upload if you need them.
 
   Home   arcade Help Login Register links videopac.nl  
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: New member and broken hardware  (Read 4150 times)
berry
Trying to get the cartridge in...
*
Posts: 2


WWW
« on: March 02, 2011, 08:55:18 PM »

I am just new to the G7000 and i have purchased one recently.

How can i make a diagnosis for a non-working system.
Logged

Please visit my blog: http://c64.berrydejager.com/
grgh
I'd sell my mother for a Videopac
********
Posts: 2279


Freedom Fighter academy dropout


george.r.g.hayward
WWW
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2011, 10:12:25 PM »

Hi Berry & welcome, Do you have any experience with hardware diagnosis? Where in the world are you? It may be easier to get a replacement, depending on your knowledge.

A recently released test cart might help, depending on what the issue is. What are the symptoms of your issue?
Logged

http://www.videopac.com/ reborn Dec-07, forever an ongoing project.
Janzl
Administrator
I'd sell my mother for a Videopac
*****
Posts: 2331


I now can cross that bloody street...


facebook@janzl.com
WWW
« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2011, 12:00:16 AM »

Welcome Berry!

If you live in western europe it should be quite easy to get a working replacement. G7000's are still around plenty and mostly go fairly cheap.
Logged

Ne tirez pas sur le administrator!
CommanderF
Trying to get the cartridge in...
*
Posts: 2



WWW
« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2011, 01:43:37 PM »

Well, i'm also a new member and since 2 days the owner of a G7400.
But my picture isn't what is shoud be. Luckily GertK lives near me and he saved my retro-hardware many times already.
We will visit the retro-day at Apeldoorn, the Netherlands, next sunday.

Logged
grgh
I'd sell my mother for a Videopac
********
Posts: 2279


Freedom Fighter academy dropout


george.r.g.hayward
WWW
« Reply #4 on: March 03, 2011, 04:20:29 PM »

Hello and welcome! I'm sure you wont be the only one there from this forum.
Logged

http://www.videopac.com/ reborn Dec-07, forever an ongoing project.
Seob
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1385



« Reply #5 on: March 03, 2011, 06:39:40 PM »

All new members welcome
Logged

8 bits of fun
berry
Trying to get the cartridge in...
*
Posts: 2


WWW
« Reply #6 on: March 05, 2011, 03:30:49 PM »

Well i am not unfamiliar with my friend the soldering iron... and getting a replacement is always an option.

What can i check? It may be that the unit is working but my LCD can't display.

I have seen that the composite mod is very doable but first i want to diagnose.

Please visit my blog : 8-bit living? and dreaming away?
Logged

Please visit my blog: http://c64.berrydejager.com/
Rene_G7400
Pedit5
I take the Videopac and leave the Canoli!
*
Posts: 2519



WWW
« Reply #7 on: March 06, 2011, 06:30:48 PM »

I would recommend purchasing the Videopac Service Testcartridge first.  Wink
Logged
CommanderF
Trying to get the cartridge in...
*
Posts: 2



WWW
« Reply #8 on: March 08, 2011, 11:54:41 AM »

My G7400 is working again. GertK exchanged a chip from a donor machine and made me very happy Smiley
Logged
Sweersa
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1060


« Reply #9 on: March 28, 2011, 10:16:26 PM »

Can someone please point me where I can buy the text cartridge?  Sorry if it's obvious, I was not able to find it in a quick search. Thanks!
Logged
gertk
Post Axe Pete!
*****
Posts: 859



gertk64
WWW
« Reply #10 on: March 28, 2011, 11:14:11 PM »

I don't know if it is still available:

http://www.bas-ditta.info/videopac/teksten/stc%20order.htm
Logged

>>G7000 G7200(P+S) G7400 N60 JET27 VG5000 ZX80 ZX81 ORIC-1 COMX35 Aquarius<<
Sweersa
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1060


« Reply #11 on: March 29, 2011, 06:12:34 AM »


I only have NTSC consoles so it will not work on them.  Still would be cool as a collectors item though.
Logged
gertk
Post Axe Pete!
*****
Posts: 859



gertk64
WWW
« Reply #12 on: March 29, 2011, 07:46:52 AM »

@Sweersa:

Is it a G7000 you have or a Odyssey2 ?
The (all?) Videopac G7000 are (AFAIK) PAL system while the Odyssey2 is NTSC
You can check by the Videochip which is on the board (8244=NTSC, 8245=PAL)
Furthermore you can do some basic checks like: is the power supply working (be careful with the high voltage side!)

Logged

>>G7000 G7200(P+S) G7400 N60 JET27 VG5000 ZX80 ZX81 ORIC-1 COMX35 Aquarius<<
Rene_G7400
Pedit5
I take the Videopac and leave the Canoli!
*
Posts: 2519



WWW
« Reply #13 on: March 29, 2011, 10:19:59 AM »


Yes, it's still available!
Logged
Sweersa
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1060


« Reply #14 on: March 30, 2011, 01:59:39 AM »


Yes, it's still available!


Cool!  I'm going to order one.

@Sweersa:

Is it a G7000 you have or a Odyssey2 ?
The (all?) Videopac G7000 are (AFAIK) PAL system while the Odyssey2 is NTSC
You can check by the Videochip which is on the board (8244=NTSC, 8245=PAL)
Furthermore you can do some basic checks like: is the power supply working (be careful with the high voltage side!)


I live in America so I only have access to Odyssey 2 NTSC consoles.  One of these days I would like to order an AV modded G7400 from Europe to play plus games from the multi-cart.  Just have to save up some more money for that project because I am going to have to purchase something to convert the PAL signal to NTSC on one of my televisions.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!