Videopac / Odyssey2 forum
December 12, 2019, 05:04:13 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: If you have some news and you want it to be shown here, pm Janzl!
 
   Home   arcade Help Login Register links videopac.nl  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: RADIOLA VG5000  (Read 4412 times)
VideopacBelgium
Totally devoted to Videopac
*******
Posts: 1674



« on: August 04, 2011, 01:36:10 PM »

How much money for a RADIOLA VG5000 (white) NEW in ITS BOX ?
Logged

Videopac digger
manopac
Game & App Development
Give this man a Jopac!
*
Posts: 1123



« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2011, 06:52:34 PM »

I would say ... not much - not because its not rare, but because there's hardly any demand (I recently saw a boxed Philips Odyssey 2100 for the first time, and I don't think anyone would pay more than 10? for it even though its pretty rare)
Logged

sex, lies, and videopac
Rene_G7400
Pedit5
I take the Videopac and leave the Canoli!
*
Posts: 2519



WWW
« Reply #2 on: August 04, 2011, 10:38:05 PM »

I agree, there seem to be plenty of VG5000's in France, but not many collectors for it.
Logged
gertk
Post Axe Pete!
*****
Posts: 859



gertk64
WWW
« Reply #3 on: September 01, 2011, 10:12:45 PM »

My (not new) boxed VG5000 Radiola costed me including shipping from France to the Netherlands 87 Euro's (shipping was more than the VG5000) it came with box, book, 2 original joysticks, the joystick adapter, some cables (no scart cable unfortunately) power supply, and an original Philips data recorder. 
Logged

>>G7000 G7200(P+S) G7400 N60 JET27 VG5000 ZX80 ZX81 ORIC-1 COMX35 Aquarius<<
Rafael
Pedit5
I take the Videopac and leave the Canoli!
*
Posts: 2502



« Reply #4 on: August 05, 2012, 04:41:32 AM »

Sometimes I think to get a VG 5000, since itīs so familiar. Do you think the actual emulation is really close to real thing. Example, playing Alien Invaders on VG5000, sometimes is not possible to see the shot. I also think, some movements are slow, like KC Munchkin. Also is it Secam, Is it 220v? And finally is it rare and expensible?
Logged
gertk
Post Axe Pete!
*****
Posts: 859



gertk64
WWW
« Reply #5 on: August 05, 2012, 07:17:43 AM »

The VG5000 has no VDC chip only the EF9345 which is about the same as the plus graphics chips of the G7400.
So it has no sprites, you need to do that all in software. It has however a lot more RAM and a faster CPU (Z80)
The video output is 'RGB only' with the same connector and pinout as the G7200 and G7401
Power supply is external (with a special 5 pin DIN plug) and is 220 Volts. No joystick ports as standard (you need an extra interface for that which gives two 'Atari' like joystickports). Keyboard is nice but (for us) a non standard layout (AZERTY)
Graphics are not as smooth as on a Videopac, you can only move in 'charactersize' steps (8 pixels in horizontal, 14 in vertical direction) A nice hidden feature is that the EF9345 can do 80 columns if you reprogram the videochip (not used in Basic alas).
Logged

>>G7000 G7200(P+S) G7400 N60 JET27 VG5000 ZX80 ZX81 ORIC-1 COMX35 Aquarius<<
Rafael
Pedit5
I take the Videopac and leave the Canoli!
*
Posts: 2502



« Reply #6 on: August 05, 2012, 03:01:07 PM »

Thanks Gert,

Now Iīm thinking to give it up of this idea Smiley
Anyway, if I decide to get it, actually what should be the best way to run itīs software?
Logged
Rene_G7400
Pedit5
I take the Videopac and leave the Canoli!
*
Posts: 2519



WWW
« Reply #7 on: August 05, 2012, 04:27:19 PM »

The VG5000 has a tape recorder connection similar to the Videopac C7420 Basic module.
If you have the programs/games for the VG5000 on your computer as sound files, you can connect the sound output of your computer to the tape input of the VG5000 to load the games.
Logged
gertk
Post Axe Pete!
*****
Posts: 859



gertk64
WWW
« Reply #8 on: August 05, 2012, 06:56:41 PM »

The tape input of the VG5000 works ok from a line-output signal. At the last Retro day in Maarssen (from Pong to Playstation) I had put a bunch of converted tape files on an audio CD and put it in a small (also quite retro) Sony CD player which was connected to the VG5000. Loading worked flawless but halfway through the day the CD player decided to quit, after some 'gentle persuasion' the disc started turning again and it worked ok since then.
Not a true CD rom but close  Smiley
Logged

>>G7000 G7200(P+S) G7400 N60 JET27 VG5000 ZX80 ZX81 ORIC-1 COMX35 Aquarius<<
Rafael
Pedit5
I take the Videopac and leave the Canoli!
*
Posts: 2502



« Reply #9 on: August 06, 2012, 02:58:12 PM »

But I donīt know how to do these cool things. I just felt if I get a VG5000, I wonīt have the means to make it run (the same with my Radiola jet 47)
Logged
Rene_G7400
Pedit5
I take the Videopac and leave the Canoli!
*
Posts: 2519



WWW
« Reply #10 on: August 06, 2012, 05:17:21 PM »

The biggest problem for you would probably be to find a way to convert the RGB video signal.
Logged
Rafael
Pedit5
I take the Videopac and leave the Canoli!
*
Posts: 2502



« Reply #11 on: August 06, 2012, 05:42:43 PM »

If I lived here in big cities like São Paulo or Rio, the things should be easy (even to find carts at very good price). The city I live is quite hard to find anything. My Radiola, I take it in two diferent "Specialized Eletronics" they promissed to try on it, but in both occasions, it stayed there for months, and I suspect it was even opened.
Logged
gertk
Post Axe Pete!
*****
Posts: 859



gertk64
WWW
« Reply #12 on: August 06, 2012, 08:25:03 PM »

You could try and find a used (small) LCD TV with a RGB SCART input. Some of these can even handle PAL/SECAM/NTSC
What mains power voltage do you have ? 120 or 220 ?
Smaller LCD TV's sometimes operate on an external power supply which could be replaced by a 'local' variety if they can not operate on 110/120 Volt. 60 Hz frequency is not a problem. (Europe has 50 Hz)
Logged

>>G7000 G7200(P+S) G7400 N60 JET27 VG5000 ZX80 ZX81 ORIC-1 COMX35 Aquarius<<
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!