Videopac / Odyssey2 forum
April 24, 2018, 10:55:23 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Al lot of attachments from Nov 2011 till april 2012 are damaged. Please ask the original poster to re-upload if you need them.
 
   Home   arcade Help Login Register links videopac.nl  
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 9   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Brix  (Read 16347 times)
Chris!
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1090



WWW
« Reply #15 on: September 17, 2013, 11:02:19 PM »

Struggled with this again last night, but I was able to put in a score. Is there a way to retain the score if the user pressed reset and it goes back to the title screen? And then delete it if the user starts a new one (by pressing ACTION on the title screen)?
Logged

All my Odyssey2 projects, now in one place!
http://www.atari2600land.com/odyssey2.html
Rafael
I'd sell my mother for a Videopac
********
Posts: 2266



« Reply #16 on: September 18, 2013, 04:19:40 AM »

I played Santa. My sugestion, like the game that inspired you, it needs some enemies and alternative ways. I know the game is in a advanced stage, but maybe using the blocks (and free space) instead squares you can create more alternative ways, also you can insert more obstacles and even a more detailed Santa?
Logged
Chris!
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1090



WWW
« Reply #17 on: September 18, 2013, 04:56:25 AM »

My next step is to insert an enemy. I will be gone from Wednesday to Friday (beach trip), so I'll be unable to work on the game until then. The enemy will be a disgruntled elf, trying to foil Santa's plot of reindeer saving. My plans are this: The elf will scroll in on a pseudo-random block once you get to the top, along with another block on the same row so you can avoid the elf and continue your way down to the bottom. I am also going to make the blocks faster once you save more reindeer.
Logged

All my Odyssey2 projects, now in one place!
http://www.atari2600land.com/odyssey2.html
Rene_G7400
I take the Videopac and leave the Canoli!
*********
Posts: 2519



WWW
« Reply #18 on: September 18, 2013, 09:40:05 AM »

Is there a way to retain the score if the user pressed reset and it goes back to the title screen? And then delete it if the user starts a new one (by pressing ACTION on the title screen)?

That is possible. Instead of using JMP 2C3 to start the game, you need to jump to your own code which should look like this:
mov r7,0ffh
sel rb1
clr a
call 00feh ; clear extram and VDC
jmp 02c8h ; (delete this instruction if you have your own start-up screen)

This way the internal RAM won't be cleared. This also means that you can't assume that the intram registers are zero at start-up.
Logged
Chris!
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1090



WWW
« Reply #19 on: September 18, 2013, 10:35:41 AM »

When I say "title screen," I don't mean the one that says "Select game," I bypassed that and made my own, like in GoSub. Just to be clear.
Logged

All my Odyssey2 projects, now in one place!
http://www.atari2600land.com/odyssey2.html
Rene_G7400
I take the Videopac and leave the Canoli!
*********
Posts: 2519



WWW
« Reply #20 on: September 18, 2013, 01:25:23 PM »

The main issue is that you are using "call init" ( = call 00f1h), which should be replaced by:
clr a
call 00feh ; clear extram and VDC

This way intram won't be cleared.
Logged
Chris!
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1090



WWW
« Reply #21 on: September 18, 2013, 03:21:30 PM »

When the game starts for the first time, the score says PPPP. How would I change that?
Logged

All my Odyssey2 projects, now in one place!
http://www.atari2600land.com/odyssey2.html
Rafael
I'd sell my mother for a Videopac
********
Posts: 2266



« Reply #22 on: September 19, 2013, 12:54:29 AM »

You should try to change the color code from 0 to 1 or vice-versa. Years ago I had started this Checkers game. I think if you use all your chars and quads (keeping just 4 chars for score), you can get more "space" for Santa jumping. You game had 7 lines you can distribute it like this:  1 quad, 3 chars, 1 quad, 2 chars, 1 quad, 3 chars and 1 quad, so Santa will have 24 space to scape from the elv.
Logged
Rafael
I'd sell my mother for a Videopac
********
Posts: 2266



« Reply #23 on: September 19, 2013, 03:10:08 AM »

I know you´re now havin fun on the beach, but I just tryed to imagine how you can do it with more "holes", in the example are intercalade a quad and 2 chars.
Logged
Rene_G7400
I take the Videopac and leave the Canoli!
*********
Posts: 2519



WWW
« Reply #24 on: September 19, 2013, 09:22:46 AM »

When the game starts for the first time, the score says PPPP. How would I change that?

When the game starts you could check the score registers for illegal values, for example like this:
  mov r1,#score_h
  mov a,@r1
  anl a,#00fh
  add a,#0f6h
  jc bad_score
  mov a,@r1
  swap a
  anl a,#00fh
  add a,#0f6h
  jc bad_score
  mov r1,#score_l
  mov a,@r1
  anl a,#00fh
  add a,#0f6h
  jc bad_score
  mov a,@r1
  swap a
  anl a,#00fh
  add a,#0f6h
  jnc good_score
bad_score
  mov r1,#score_h
  mov @r1,#0
  mov r1,#score_l
  mov @r1,#0
good_score
Logged
Rafael
I'd sell my mother for a Videopac
********
Posts: 2266



« Reply #25 on: September 20, 2013, 12:14:46 AM »

When the game starts for the first time, the score says PPPP.

Or like in Turtle it´s promoting other Ody games , in this case it means Play Puzzle Pieace Panic! Wink
Logged
Chris!
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1090



WWW
« Reply #26 on: September 20, 2013, 09:04:34 PM »

I tried putting that code in but when you reset the game it says "REINDE" instead of "REINDEER." What am I doing wrong?
Logged

All my Odyssey2 projects, now in one place!
http://www.atari2600land.com/odyssey2.html
TomBeck
Post Axe Pete!
*****
Posts: 923



« Reply #27 on: September 20, 2013, 10:59:04 PM »

Thanks for the picture Rafael. The game looks great.

The first christmas game for Videopac/Odyssey2. I love santa and the reindeer.

A wonderful project Chris ! Many thanks! I hope this game will be released.
Logged

Wink  Killed the Killer Bees  Wink
Chris!
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1090



WWW
« Reply #28 on: September 21, 2013, 03:32:30 AM »

OK, I figured out what was wrong. Apparently I didn't need the part of the code that got rid of the E and R at the end any more. Fixed.
Logged

All my Odyssey2 projects, now in one place!
http://www.atari2600land.com/odyssey2.html
Chris!
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1090



WWW
« Reply #29 on: September 22, 2013, 10:15:42 PM »

WHY WAS THIS SO HARD?!
I worked for like 6 hours on what I thought would be a small change. Ha. Anyway, when you get to the top, you ride the reindeer like you would a horse and then guide him down to the bottom. I also changed the Santa sprite and added a new sitting on reindeer sprite, which I will probably change because I don't like it. So if someone can do better, please gimme.
Now at only about 500 bytes left. I wonder if I can fit the elf in...
I'm all burned out from programming, so a little break is in order.
Logged

All my Odyssey2 projects, now in one place!
http://www.atari2600land.com/odyssey2.html
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 9   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!