Videopac / Odyssey2 forum
December 15, 2019, 12:39:26 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: If you have some news and you want it to be shown here, pm Janzl!
 
   Home   arcade Help Login Register links videopac.nl  
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Games are suddenly freezing  (Read 4789 times)
ArcadeTV
Trying to get the cartridge in...
*
Posts: 16



« on: January 10, 2014, 03:28:27 AM »

After I had some time to play around with my G7000 a bit I experienced a problem...
Games are hanging/freezing randomly after playing a while.
I might be wrong but noticed that the freezing occurs when one player dies and the system is supposed the 'die sound'. But it happens randomly, not all the time. I checked other game-cartridges and the freezes are not related to a single game, it happens on 1/Racing and on 4/Air and Sea War.

I didn't try to clean the carts or the slot yet as I suspect something else is wrong...

Has anybody experienced something similar on a stock G7000?

Any help is very much appreciated, Thanks guys!
Logged
Define
Attacked the Timelord
***
Posts: 125



« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2014, 07:09:30 PM »

I always clean a Videopac system but try to open it, maybe you can see dirt or something strange on the print?
Seems something is about ..or died onboard?
Logged

Videopac 4 life
ArcadeTV
Trying to get the cartridge in...
*
Posts: 16



« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2014, 07:24:13 PM »

Thanks! I already opened the system and I will post some pictures shortly.
In the meantime I'd like to ask for a replacement power supply.
I would love to kick the original one and use something more modern.
I believe it's 5V DC, is that correct?
Does anybody know of a guide to make use of a new power supply?

Thanks again!
I'll be back.
Logged
ArcadeTV
Trying to get the cartridge in...
*
Posts: 16



« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2014, 11:59:21 PM »

I was a bit worried about corrosion on the ICs' legs, but after I cleaned them with a fibre brush it didn't look so bad..
Here's an image before I cleaned it:


I couldn't spot any bad solder joints or disconnected traces - all in all the system seems to be in quita a good shape.

Here's a link to my Picasa Gallery where you can see all the pictures I made of that unit:
https://picasaweb.google.com/115948745418514736250/Videopac?authuser=0&feat=directlink&noredirect=1
Logged
Rene_G7400
Pedit5
I take the Videopac and leave the Canoli!
*
Posts: 2519



WWW
« Reply #4 on: January 11, 2014, 06:29:31 PM »

The G7000 needs 5V DC (1.1A), but I don't think the power supply of your console is causing the problems. The corrosion on the pins of the ICs shouldn't be a problem either as long as the solder joints are fine. I haven't seen this issue before, maybe a problem with the 8048 processor getting hot after a while?
Logged
ArcadeTV
Trying to get the cartridge in...
*
Posts: 16



« Reply #5 on: January 11, 2014, 06:33:53 PM »

Yes INDEED!
I also noticed that the Intel chip is getting hot immediately. But since I didn't know better I thought that was a usual thing.
Is this an issue??
Thanks!!
Logged
Rene_G7400
Pedit5
I take the Videopac and leave the Canoli!
*
Posts: 2519



WWW
« Reply #6 on: January 11, 2014, 09:58:06 PM »

The larger ICs should get warm, but not hot. Does the power supply deliver the right voltage? (5V, max 5.2V)
Logged
ArcadeTV
Trying to get the cartridge in...
*
Posts: 16



« Reply #7 on: January 11, 2014, 10:06:18 PM »

I measured 5.57V when I had it on the table.
Right now it doesn't do anything Sad
Only Blackscreen.
Voltage is still present, even on the Video Out connector on the mainboard.
Logged
Rene_G7400
Pedit5
I take the Videopac and leave the Canoli!
*
Posts: 2519



WWW
« Reply #8 on: January 12, 2014, 03:03:28 PM »

5.57V is too much. The voltage can be adjusted with R172.
But it sounds like something has died. Maybe the Intel 8245? (Video chip)
Logged
Define
Attacked the Timelord
***
Posts: 125



« Reply #9 on: January 13, 2014, 01:07:42 PM »

I think something has died...

And the look of the processor pins is not normal also and maybe THE reason why...

Try heating the pins with some solder and a iron (for a few seconds at most!)

Or else there is a way of making all lines works again, but that means you got to have an oven at a certain heat, putting the whole board in with plastic parts covered with some silver foil.
(better look that one up with Google...)

Sometimes old boards need that last bit but i never tried that Wink


Maybe a nice add-on is a small fan inside a G-console, i'm not suggesting heat pipes or that kind of modern cooling but i think it's not a bad idea!
Although back in the day we spent hours and hours with the units and all went well.
But... why not Wink



Logged

Videopac 4 life
ArcadeTV
Trying to get the cartridge in...
*
Posts: 16



« Reply #10 on: January 13, 2014, 08:47:27 PM »

I adjusted it to 5.2V
Could it be that it does not boot because i have no keyboard or Joysticks attached at this time?
Logged
Rene_G7400
Pedit5
I take the Videopac and leave the Canoli!
*
Posts: 2519



WWW
« Reply #11 on: January 13, 2014, 08:58:16 PM »

Could it be that it does not boot because i have no keyboard or Joysticks attached at this time?

No, but pressing reset sometimes helps, so you would either need the keyboard or briefly connect the reset input of the 8048 to ground.
Does it produce the start-up (SELECT GAME) sound when you turn the console on with a cartridge inserted?
Logged
ArcadeTV
Trying to get the cartridge in...
*
Posts: 16



« Reply #12 on: January 13, 2014, 09:04:42 PM »

No, it does nothing  Huh?
Logged
Rene_G7400
Pedit5
I take the Videopac and leave the Canoli!
*
Posts: 2519



WWW
« Reply #13 on: January 13, 2014, 11:46:09 PM »

What kind of equipment do you have that could be used to test the console? (Oscilloscope, frequency counter?)
Logged
ArcadeTV
Trying to get the cartridge in...
*
Posts: 16



« Reply #14 on: January 14, 2014, 12:05:19 AM »

Unfortunately I have nothing to test logic elements, I have a good weller soldering station, a desoldering station, a multimeter and other modding tools. I'm no electrician or engineer so I'm always lost when it comes to this Sad
But I'm always interested  in learning. Can you recommend an oscilloscope?
Thanks very much for your help! Can't say that often enough.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!