Videopac / Odyssey2 forum
January 21, 2020, 08:44:22 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Al lot of attachments from Nov 2011 till april 2012 are damaged. Please ask the original poster to re-upload if you need them.
 
   Home   arcade Help Login Register links videopac.nl  
Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: my french g7400  (Read 4614 times)
ncc-1864
Trying to get the cartridge in...
*
Posts: 49


« on: February 11, 2014, 02:20:09 AM »

would this help get me going
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Coax-RF-RCA-S-Video-YCbCr-To-VGA-Converter-Scaler-With-IR-Remote-/121156991881?pt=TV_Tuner_Video_Capture_Devices&hash=item1c3584fb89

still trying to get my machine hooked up to my american tv
Logged

Don E. Jernigan ll
gertk
Post Axe Pete!
*****
Posts: 859



gertk64
WWW
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2014, 08:42:32 AM »


Unfortunately it does not state anywhere that it can handle PAL  Sad
Also, there is no SCART RGB input (only VGA RGB input)
So I would say: no..
Logged

>>G7000 G7200(P+S) G7400 N60 JET27 VG5000 ZX80 ZX81 ORIC-1 COMX35 Aquarius<<
VideopacBelgium
Totally devoted to Videopac
*******
Posts: 1684



« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2014, 12:44:59 PM »

Finally,
Do you have a french G7400 or a PAL G7400?
Logged

Videopac digger
ncc-1864
Trying to get the cartridge in...
*
Posts: 49


« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2014, 07:23:30 PM »

well how do i find out? it does not have a scart plug next to the controller din plugs.
 
Logged

Don E. Jernigan ll
VideopacBelgium
Totally devoted to Videopac
*******
Posts: 1684



« Reply #4 on: February 11, 2014, 09:36:59 PM »

well how do i find out? it does not have a scart plug next to the controller din plugs.
 
Then, you have a PAL G7400 with RF output.
You can connect your FRENCH VIDEOPAC+ with a RGB output into a VGA Monitor:
YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7dfAfNyDzl0
« Last Edit: February 11, 2014, 11:17:41 PM by VideopacBelgium » Logged

Videopac digger
ncc-1864
Trying to get the cartridge in...
*
Posts: 49


« Reply #5 on: February 12, 2014, 02:06:05 AM »

in that video it looks like you have a scart cord and a rf cord?
Logged

Don E. Jernigan ll
VideopacBelgium
Totally devoted to Videopac
*******
Posts: 1684



« Reply #6 on: February 12, 2014, 11:18:49 AM »

in that video it looks like you have a scart cord and a rf cord?

This is a JOPAC (same as G7400) with a scart cord.
You need a FRENCH G7400 with a SCART.
« Last Edit: February 12, 2014, 12:54:48 PM by VideopacBelgium » Logged

Videopac digger
ncc-1864
Trying to get the cartridge in...
*
Posts: 49


« Reply #7 on: February 12, 2014, 06:40:53 PM »

so you are saying that i DO need to get another console?
Logged

Don E. Jernigan ll
Rene_G7400
Pedit5
I take the Videopac and leave the Canoli!
*
Posts: 2519



WWW
« Reply #8 on: February 12, 2014, 08:28:38 PM »

I will try to make an easy plug-in audio/video mod, then you don't need another console, but you will need the earlier mentioned converters, one for the power (120V to 220V) and one for the video signal (PAL to NTSC, also known as television standards converter).
Logged
ncc-1864
Trying to get the cartridge in...
*
Posts: 49


« Reply #9 on: February 13, 2014, 12:11:08 AM »

so i need THREE converters. see thats what i am not understanding since i only have the rf cord and power cord. the converter that you are talking about making is that something that i would plug into the rf cord then plug the pal/ntsc to that. then the tv?
Logged

Don E. Jernigan ll
Rene_G7400
Pedit5
I take the Videopac and leave the Canoli!
*
Posts: 2519



WWW
« Reply #10 on: February 13, 2014, 11:15:00 AM »

so i need THREE converters. see thats what i am not understanding since i only have the rf cord and power cord. the converter that you are talking about making is that something that i would plug into the rf cord then plug the pal/ntsc to that. then the tv?

I wouldn't really call the thing that I would make a converter, only a simple amplifier. You would need to open the console, unplug the connector of the RF box inside the console, then plug the amplifier in. Then the output of the amplifier should go to the PAL/NTSC converter. The output of the PAL/NTSC converter goes to the video input of your TV (VCR/DVD input). Maybe newer TVs could do the PAL/NTSC conversion for you, but you would have to check the manual of your TV.
Logged
ncc-1864
Trying to get the cartridge in...
*
Posts: 49


« Reply #11 on: February 13, 2014, 02:39:33 PM »

ok i get it now, kinda like the five wire mod for the odyssey 2 but more complicated. you know i got one of those composite mods for my odyssey 2, from a guy name murat in turkey.  after i took out my rf box and soldered in the little board my picture then became grainy and darker.  so you are trying to find a way to make the modification but make it simple enough to where i can understand it.
Logged

Don E. Jernigan ll
VideopacBelgium
Totally devoted to Videopac
*******
Posts: 1684



« Reply #12 on: February 13, 2014, 05:34:54 PM »

Tonight I'll take the AV mod (with 2 transistors) that I've made for my Odyssey3 and try it with my PAL G7400.
Logged

Videopac digger
Rene_G7400
Pedit5
I take the Videopac and leave the Canoli!
*
Posts: 2519



WWW
« Reply #13 on: February 13, 2014, 05:46:56 PM »

Tonight I'll take the AV mod (with 2 transistors) that I've made for my Odyssey3 and try it with my PAL G7400.

You might need an extra pull-up resistor to +5V on the input of the amplifier if you want to plug it into the connector of the RF modulator of the G7400 to give the first transistor enough DC offset.

Logged
VideopacBelgium
Totally devoted to Videopac
*******
Posts: 1684



« Reply #14 on: February 13, 2014, 11:35:40 PM »

Unplug the RF module (photo 1)
Plug the AV module (photo 2)
This is an AV mod with 2 transistors BC558 and BC548.
No video signal on TV
I must change the 680R resistor?
« Last Edit: February 13, 2014, 11:49:03 PM by VideopacBelgium » Logged

Videopac digger
Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!