Videopac / Odyssey2 forum
October 23, 2019, 07:30:40 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Al lot of attachments from Nov 2011 till april 2012 are damaged. Please ask the original poster to re-upload if you need them.
 
   Home   arcade Help Login Register links videopac.nl  
Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: New Odyssey2 emulator: Homer!  (Read 9994 times)
manskirtbrew
Trying to get the cartridge in...
*
Posts: 17


« on: March 10, 2014, 08:12:44 PM »

Way back in the day, I wrote Nostalgia, an Intellivision emulator. Recently, I'd been itching for a new project. The Odyssey2 was the first console we had as kids, so I thought it'd be fun to try.

I'm mostly doing this as a challenge to myself to see if I can build the emulator just from available documentation. So far things are going well. This board has been a tremendous resource for information, so thanks for that!

Most of the roms I've tried work, even the cool intro for Killer Bees.

I've attached the latest version to this post. I'll edit it as I update versions so you don't have to find them all over the thread.

Latest version 0.6
- Command line options temporarily removed
- F2 toggles sound
- F3 toggles fullscreen
- F4 resets CPU
- F7/F8 decreases/increases volume
- F9 toggles pause
- GUI loader displays all ROM files. Double-click to play
- Input keys are now customizable via keys.cfg file
- Valid key codes are listed in key_codes.txt file
- Config data and screen size/position is now stored in options.cfg file
- I know there's a gray bar at the top. Working on that.
« Last Edit: November 06, 2014, 07:49:44 PM by manskirtbrew » Logged
Rafael
Pedit5
I'd sell my mother for a Videopac
*
Posts: 2472



« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2014, 02:03:57 AM »

I would like to test your Homer, do you have a direct link?
Logged
manskirtbrew
Trying to get the cartridge in...
*
Posts: 17


« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2014, 02:40:01 AM »

I'd like you to test it too! Is the Dropbox link not working for you?
Logged
Janzl
Administrator
I'd sell my mother for a Videopac
*****
Posts: 2323


I now can cross that bloody street...


facebook@janzl.com
WWW
« Reply #3 on: March 12, 2014, 08:39:59 AM »

For me the Dropbox link is working fine. You don't need Dropbox to download it.
Logged

Ne tirez pas sur le administrator!
manskirtbrew
Trying to get the cartridge in...
*
Posts: 17


« Reply #4 on: March 12, 2014, 04:51:30 PM »

I've got sound mostly working! Still a lot of pops and dropouts, but it's totally recognizable.

I also fixed the Atlantis sprite bug, after realizing there were too many sprites on screen at once and the code was re-drawing them mid-scan.

The new version should be up later today.
Logged
manskirtbrew
Trying to get the cartridge in...
*
Posts: 17


« Reply #5 on: March 12, 2014, 10:22:32 PM »

I figured out the Krazy Chase bug, too! Turns out it was writing to 0x80 in XRAM. Does Krazy Chase have a built in RAM chip?
Logged
Rafael
Pedit5
I'd sell my mother for a Videopac
*
Posts: 2472



« Reply #6 on: March 12, 2014, 11:42:33 PM »

I had pressed the button that would take me straight to hell. Now I found the correct link. m will soon test the Homer!
Logged
manskirtbrew
Trying to get the cartridge in...
*
Posts: 17


« Reply #7 on: March 13, 2014, 01:59:10 AM »

Okay, Homer 0.2 is up at the same location. Changes:

- Added sound
- Fixed sprite drawing to allow mid screen changes
- Fixed K.C.'s Krazy Chase

Also added a /s or -s option for Silent mode if you don't like the bad sound.
Logged
Rafael
Pedit5
I'd sell my mother for a Videopac
*
Posts: 2472



« Reply #8 on: March 15, 2014, 01:41:23 AM »

I just tried Atlantis, typed: homer atlantis.bin and received a error message Huh?
Logged
Chris!
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1143



WWW
« Reply #9 on: March 15, 2014, 08:17:19 AM »

I get an error message, too. Something about a .dll file not being there. So I downloaded the dll file and got this:

The application was unable to start correctly (0xc000007b).
« Last Edit: March 15, 2014, 08:35:33 AM by Chris! » Logged

All my Odyssey2 projects, now in one place!
http://www.atari2600land.com/odyssey2.html
manskirtbrew
Trying to get the cartridge in...
*
Posts: 17


« Reply #10 on: March 16, 2014, 10:04:07 PM »

Oh I've seen that before. I think the problem is 64 vs 32 bit operating systems. Can you please tell me what OS you both are using? I'll check to make sure I'm building a 32-bit version, since that should work on both.

Thanks!

-Joe
Logged
manskirtbrew
Trying to get the cartridge in...
*
Posts: 17


« Reply #11 on: March 16, 2014, 10:04:56 PM »

Also, Chris, what DLL was missing? I thought it would only need sdl2.dll, which I included in the zip.
Logged
manskirtbrew
Trying to get the cartridge in...
*
Posts: 17


« Reply #12 on: March 16, 2014, 10:33:26 PM »

In the meantime, I rebuilt things and uploaded the latest code. Changes:

- Fixed bug in collision detection (caused KTAA to always detect hits)
- Fixed bug in sound emulation
- Fixed sound emulation to be much more accurate
- Added -v## switch for volume from 0-10

This is built for x86 and should include all the libraries it needs to run. Let me know how it goes for you guys.
Logged
Chris!
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1143



WWW
« Reply #13 on: March 17, 2014, 01:28:18 AM »

It was MSVCP110.dll. I'm using Windows 7 and a 64 bit version.
Logged

All my Odyssey2 projects, now in one place!
http://www.atari2600land.com/odyssey2.html
Chris!
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1143



WWW
« Reply #14 on: March 17, 2014, 01:38:18 AM »

I tried Homer 0.3 and I still get problems. Maybe if you removed the "roms" part of the file name system getting thingy (I don't know much about making emulators as you can see). I get this message:
"Unable to open file: roms\C:\Users\Chris\Documents\Homer_0.3\Homer\niceice26.bin Error: 22"
Logged

All my Odyssey2 projects, now in one place!
http://www.atari2600land.com/odyssey2.html
Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!