Videopac / Odyssey2 forum
December 12, 2019, 04:40:52 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Al lot of attachments from Nov 2011 till april 2012 are damaged. Please ask the original poster to re-upload if you need them.
 
   Home   arcade Help Login Register links videopac.nl  
Pages: 1 2 [3]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: New Odyssey2 emulator: Homer!  (Read 10057 times)
manskirtbrew
Trying to get the cartridge in...
*
Posts: 17


« Reply #30 on: March 22, 2014, 04:07:17 PM »

haha that's no good. I guess the sprite display isn't as simple as forward- or reverse-order. I'll do some more tinkering, thanks for testing it out!
Logged
manskirtbrew
Trying to get the cartridge in...
*
Posts: 17


« Reply #31 on: March 26, 2014, 07:41:38 PM »

Figured it out and uploaded Homer 0.5 to the OP. The problem was the way I'm drawing sprites and characters. I'm doing it per-scanline, but drawing out the whole sprite/char. So if they overlap, no matter what order I do them in, a character at a later scanline always overwrites an earlier one.

This is now fixed for sprites -- they're drawn line-by-line -- but still needs to be fixed for characters. It seems to have made Nice Ice work correctly (great game, btw!) and everything else still looks good.
Logged
LS650
Played Munchkin once...
**
Posts: 53



« Reply #32 on: July 26, 2014, 06:18:07 PM »

I use O2EM all the time, but hadn't heard of Homer until just now.
I will check it out this weekend.
Logged
LS650
Played Munchkin once...
**
Posts: 53



« Reply #33 on: July 27, 2014, 05:31:47 AM »

I tried playing UFO! and KC Munchkin; this is with an old Toshiba running Windows XP.

I offer some "constructive criticism"...
 1) Seems slightly slower than a real console; maybe 10% slower.

 2) If you don't have a full keyboard, it's pretty difficult to play using number keys for a controller.  My suggestion would be to make it possible to use some of the alphabetic keys work, such as WASD.

 3) Why use Del and Enter as the fire buttons?  Very awkward.  I would use the Control and Alt keys instead.

 4) Option to resize screen (at least 2x) is needed.
Logged
manskirtbrew
Trying to get the cartridge in...
*
Posts: 17


« Reply #34 on: November 06, 2014, 07:54:38 PM »

Thanks for the feedback! I appreciate all constructive criticism. I've been busy opening a brewery (no, really!), but I decided to work on Homer a little. To address your feedback directly:

1) Seems slightly slower than a real console; maybe 10% slower.

 2) If you don't have a full keyboard, it's pretty difficult to play using number keys for a controller.  My suggestion would be to make it possible to use some of the alphabetic keys work, such as WASD.

 3) Why use Del and Enter as the fire buttons?  Very awkward.  I would use the Control and Alt keys instead.

 4) Option to resize screen (at least 2x) is needed.
1) Is your console PAL or NTSC? I should be running at 60FPS.

2) I have added key customization. You can edit keys.cfg to whatever you like.

3) See #2

4) Screen was resizable in the last release. Just drag the corner. Now the size is saved each time you run. You can also F3 for fullscreen.

See the OP to download the latest 0.6 version.
Logged
19rsn007
Trying to get the cartridge in...
*
Posts: 8


« Reply #35 on: January 26, 2015, 03:06:23 PM »

is this gonna be an open source project?
I would love to see/build a linux version Cheesy
Logged
Chris!
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1148



WWW
« Reply #36 on: July 27, 2015, 10:54:17 PM »

I doubt that this is being worked on any more, but I have found a small error in Homer regarding my fireball in the Plumber game I'm working on. O2EM and real hardware handle it fine, but Homer seems to add one x pixel to the character that makes up the center.
Logged

All my Odyssey2 projects, now in one place!
http://www.atari2600land.com/odyssey2.html
PowerpointGOD
Trying to get the cartridge in...
*
Posts: 7


« Reply #37 on: April 12, 2016, 06:24:40 PM »

Sometimes i get a collision error popup. Is there someway to fix this?
Logged
Chris!
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1148



WWW
« Reply #38 on: April 19, 2016, 12:42:11 AM »

I doubt it. The guy who made this seems to have vanished off the forums.
Logged

All my Odyssey2 projects, now in one place!
http://www.atari2600land.com/odyssey2.html
Pages: 1 2 [3]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!