Videopac / Odyssey2 forum
December 08, 2019, 05:36:41 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: If you have some news and you want it to be shown here, pm Janzl!
 
   Home   arcade Help Login Register links videopac.nl  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: "Sid the Spellbinder" Not talking the word to spell  (Read 4881 times)
Blueleader
Attacked the Timelord
***
Posts: 112



« on: July 16, 2014, 03:40:51 PM »

Hello!

Today i got "The Voice"  and one of the first Games i played was "Sid the Spellbinder"
All worked fine. The Voice was asking me what Level i want to play.
While shooting, The Voice was talkink to me.
Then, after i hit the last Segment of the Worm, normally TH should say a Word which i have to spell, but there is silence.

If i type any Letters, The Voice is talking them, and if i hit ENTER, The Voice told me that it is incorrect.
After the second try, The Voice is talking "the correct spelling of [SILENCE] is and is  then spelling every Letter.
Instead SILENCE normaly the word is spoken.

So i cleaned the Contacts of my Gamecartridge but The Voice or Sid still silent instead talking the word.
"Type and Tell" and "Smithereens" working fine so i could it be that the Gamemodule is damaged?

Any Ideas what i can do?
If it is avoidable, i don't want to open the cartridge.
Logged
Blueleader
Attacked the Timelord
***
Posts: 112



« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2014, 05:54:14 PM »

So now i tested "Nimble Numbers Ned" and this game works fine too.
This makes me pretty sure, that the problem is (in) the Sid Module.
Logged
Blueleader
Attacked the Timelord
***
Posts: 112



« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2014, 06:44:33 PM »

Here i am again  Smiley

I made a short Video what Sid is doing so you can hear what i mean.
YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xEa-XUiLCU0

And if you are interested, here a picture of Sids Chipset.
« Last Edit: April 07, 2017, 02:25:39 AM by Blueleader » Logged
Rene_G7400
Pedit5
I take the Videopac and leave the Canoli!
*
Posts: 2519



WWW
« Reply #3 on: July 19, 2014, 11:25:28 PM »

I understand what you mean, SID is the only cart that has an extra ROM chip with Voice sounds on it (like you can see in your picture). This extra chip is only used for the words, the other speech elements are standard Voice sounds. So either the Voice ROM chip isn't working, or there is a communication problem between the Voice processor inside the Voice module and the extra ROM in the cart.
Logged
Blueleader
Attacked the Timelord
***
Posts: 112



« Reply #4 on: July 21, 2014, 08:17:43 AM »

Thank you for your reply.
So is there another way to test the communication between the extended ROM and he Voice Module?
Because SID is the only Module with extended VOICE-ROM,  I only see the way to buy another SID Module to isolate the source of error.
Logged
VideopacBelgium
Totally devoted to Videopac
*******
Posts: 1674



« Reply #5 on: July 21, 2014, 09:59:54 AM »

Hi,

No, I think there is no other way to test the communication between the extended ROM and he Voice Module.
You could open your Voice module carefully to check a few wires. The Voice module was tested but these wires are fragile.
Check the white and red wires as pictured.
Logged

Videopac digger
Blueleader
Attacked the Timelord
***
Posts: 112



« Reply #6 on: July 21, 2014, 06:35:56 PM »

So, i checked all the wires and none of them is broken.
I also cleaned all contacts again. The module contacts and the contacts of the ROM-Board.

I made some Pictures.
Maybe you see something i didn't see.


 
 


If someone from Vienna read this, owned a "The Voice" or "Sid the Spellbinder", maybe we can meet and make a test to reduce the failure to one part?
« Last Edit: April 07, 2017, 02:23:57 AM by Blueleader » Logged
manopac
Game & App Development
Give this man a Jopac!
*
Posts: 1123



« Reply #7 on: July 21, 2014, 07:52:12 PM »

If someone from Vienna read this, owned a "The Voice" or "Sid the Spellbinder", maybe we can meet and make a test to reduce the failure to one part?

I guess that would be me then ... though I have no idea if my Voice actually works (or Sid for that matter ;-) )
Logged

sex, lies, and videopac
Blueleader
Attacked the Timelord
***
Posts: 112



« Reply #8 on: July 22, 2014, 07:40:14 PM »

Sounds great!
So it's the best time and the best weather to play a round of SID  Wink
If your SID is talking than it's working.  Smiley
Logged
Rene_G7400
Pedit5
I take the Videopac and leave the Canoli!
*
Posts: 2519



WWW
« Reply #9 on: July 27, 2014, 09:54:35 PM »

I also think the only way to test this would be to have either another SID cart or another Voice module.
The Voice processor communicates the same way with the ROM chip inside the module as with the ROM chip of SID, so the problem would be either the SID cart or the cartridge connector of the Voice module (I mean the black connector at the upper side).
Logged
Blueleader
Attacked the Timelord
***
Posts: 112



« Reply #10 on: August 02, 2014, 04:27:23 PM »

The mystery is solved!
The SID module seems to have a faulty or defective ROM.  Cry

Until now, that is luckily my only module that has a defect.

I could test it on a different hardware. There, another SID was perfect, but my remained silent.
My replacement from the United States arrived yesterday, and now SID finally talk to me. 410 points in the first game.  Cheesy

I would like to thank all who helped me in troubleshooting!
Logged
gertk
Post Axe Pete!
*****
Posts: 859



gertk64
WWW
« Reply #11 on: August 03, 2014, 09:51:52 AM »

I assume the voice rom is defective? If so I would be interested in your defective sid cart.
Logged

>>G7000 G7200(P+S) G7400 N60 JET27 VG5000 ZX80 ZX81 ORIC-1 COMX35 Aquarius<<
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!