Videopac / Odyssey2 forum
December 08, 2019, 10:59:59 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Al lot of attachments from Nov 2011 till april 2012 are damaged. Please ask the original poster to re-upload if you need them.
 
   Home   arcade Help Login Register links videopac.nl  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Bones (WIP)  (Read 3260 times)
Chris!
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1148



WWW
« on: November 07, 2015, 12:46:24 AM »

So I began working on this as a project for Halloween but I couldn't get it working right so I gave up on it. About two weeks later (today), I started trying to do it again. This time I got it to work. What is weird though, is the equ variables. They only seem to work if they're set at the addresses they are at right now. I tried various addresses until this worked on a real Odyssey 2. The addresses are part of quads 1 and 2, which is weird. So I guess I will make the score be quad 0 and the high score be quad 3? Anyway, all I have done so far is a title screen and pressing fire gets you to the game screen, which involves bugs moving around randomly on a rib cage. I want the game to be like Turmoil for the Atari 2600, but I don't know what to make the thing that goes up and down in the center be. Does anyone have any ideas?
Logged

All my Odyssey2 projects, now in one place!
http://www.atari2600land.com/odyssey2.html
Chris!
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1148



WWW
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2015, 02:26:21 AM »

I got the equs to be in the 20s and 30s like it's supposed to and the bugs are moving more randomly now.
Logged

All my Odyssey2 projects, now in one place!
http://www.atari2600land.com/odyssey2.html
Chris!
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1148



WWW
« Reply #2 on: November 07, 2015, 07:29:44 PM »

You control the big purple bug, which can move up and down only, and to shoot at the little things, left on the joystick shoots left and right shoots right. There is no collision detection yet though.
Logged

All my Odyssey2 projects, now in one place!
http://www.atari2600land.com/odyssey2.html
Chris!
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1148



WWW
« Reply #3 on: November 07, 2015, 10:07:18 PM »

A rainy Saturday afternoon with nothing to do led me to work on the game some more. I put in some collision detection. Once you shoot all 4 bugs, there's nothing left to do except start all over again. This, of course, will be changed as I keep working on the game more. And if you touch a bug, it goes to the title screen. This will also be changed, as I want to add a life counter. There is no score yet, though.
I am renaming this game "Boney McBones," the title screen reflects that.
Logged

All my Odyssey2 projects, now in one place!
http://www.atari2600land.com/odyssey2.html
Chris!
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1148



WWW
« Reply #4 on: November 17, 2015, 01:36:52 AM »

Made some changes. The biggest one is that when you shoot all four bugs, they regenerate on the skeleton. I did this a few days ago but never put it  here until now.
Logged

All my Odyssey2 projects, now in one place!
http://www.atari2600land.com/odyssey2.html
Rafael
Pedit5
I take the Videopac and leave the Canoli!
*
Posts: 2502



« Reply #5 on: November 28, 2015, 04:13:45 PM »

I played Turmoil for a while this week. The interesting on Turmoil are the variety of enemies. Maybe you can try it on your game. Instead to use balls as enemies you can use the sprites, so we can give more interesting and diferent enemies with diferent behavior.
Logged
Chris!
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1148



WWW
« Reply #6 on: November 30, 2015, 08:38:30 PM »

The way it's set up is for collision with the characters. Perhaps I can add a few more interesting characters and have them randomly appear or something.
Logged

All my Odyssey2 projects, now in one place!
http://www.atari2600land.com/odyssey2.html
Chris!
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1148



WWW
« Reply #7 on: December 01, 2015, 02:45:54 AM »

Added a triangle for an enemy. On Homer 0.4 you cannot move up very far, but on real hardware, this issue is not present. I was trying all afternoon to squish a bug that wasn't even present on real hardware! And then my C7050 cart started acting real strange and wasn't working. At one point, it said "DOWNLOADING 8k PAL" even though I have the NTSC version. But it apparently fixed itself.
Logged

All my Odyssey2 projects, now in one place!
http://www.atari2600land.com/odyssey2.html
Chris!
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1148



WWW
« Reply #8 on: December 01, 2015, 05:04:58 PM »

Another change. I made it so there's only one enemy on screen to shoot at one time. When you shoot it, another random one appears on the screen. I also changed the SFX a little. And there's no more scoring and dying at the same time. You either score or die, whichever is first. I have about 300 bytes left to make changes.
Logged

All my Odyssey2 projects, now in one place!
http://www.atari2600land.com/odyssey2.html
Chris!
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1148



WWW
« Reply #9 on: December 02, 2015, 10:07:59 PM »

Another change. I changed the character to the little running man. (The Odyssey 2 one, not the Intv one!) This took all morning to do from the time I got up at 7am to 1pm, but in the end well worth it.
Logged

All my Odyssey2 projects, now in one place!
http://www.atari2600land.com/odyssey2.html
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!