Videopac / Odyssey2 forum
December 08, 2019, 11:39:18 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Join Rafael's Haunted Woods contest and win a copy of the game!
 
   Home   arcade Help Login Register links videopac.nl  
Pages: 1 [2] 3   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: I Like Bacon  (Read 7232 times)
Chris!
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1148



WWW
« Reply #15 on: February 23, 2016, 02:58:02 AM »

I can't put a pig sprite in. Anyone want to help? If not, then I quit because I can't do it.
Logged

All my Odyssey2 projects, now in one place!
http://www.atari2600land.com/odyssey2.html
Chris!
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1148



WWW
« Reply #16 on: February 23, 2016, 05:26:58 AM »

I got it! After fiddling with the code for about another hour. I don't know why it was so hard!
Logged

All my Odyssey2 projects, now in one place!
http://www.atari2600land.com/odyssey2.html
Chris!
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1148



WWW
« Reply #17 on: February 24, 2016, 11:08:24 AM »

New version. This one doesn't work on O2EM, but does work on Homer and real hardware. Spent many hours and many attempts to get it to work on real hardware, and I finally did. The pig can now jump onto different ledges. On O2EM, he only changes ledges once, otherwise the pig will change ledges many times or until you turn the game off. I even got a crude title screen in. I'm quickly running out of room, I have 1,421 bytes used up out of 2,048. There is still no collision detection. Things left to do are put in collision detection and a score. Hopefully I'll have enough room for a score. I am using some variables in equ 050-5f, so unless I can change them and make the game still work, there's probably only room for a score and not a high score.
Logged

All my Odyssey2 projects, now in one place!
http://www.atari2600land.com/odyssey2.html
Rafael
Pedit5
I take the Videopac and leave the Canoli!
*
Posts: 2502



« Reply #18 on: February 25, 2016, 03:38:20 AM »

My turn Cheesy
You can use a "=" signal" for bacon and, if your only others objects are the man and the pig, you can use 2 sprites for each.
Logged
Chris!
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1148



WWW
« Reply #19 on: February 25, 2016, 05:26:59 AM »

I thought about doing that, but then I figured it would be a whole lot of difficult coding to see which character got touched since the elevators are characters as well.
Logged

All my Odyssey2 projects, now in one place!
http://www.atari2600land.com/odyssey2.html
Rafael
Pedit5
I take the Videopac and leave the Canoli!
*
Posts: 2502



« Reply #20 on: February 25, 2016, 10:47:28 PM »

I thought about doing that, but then I figured it would be a whole lot of difficult coding to see which character got touched since the elevators are characters as well.

You have another option: Vgrid as elevator
Logged
Rafael
Pedit5
I take the Videopac and leave the Canoli!
*
Posts: 2502



« Reply #21 on: February 27, 2016, 04:28:19 AM »

Things you can try (if you want)


1. (in a nice black bground) You have 2 sprites man and 2 sprites pigs, v_grid are the elevators.
2. Man decide to enter in the elevator.
3. Now the 2 man sprites changes to double sized sprites (one for each elevator), youŽll have a short animation of elevator closing the door.
4. Now the sprites became the elevator, v_grid=0, on next floor the doors will open and the man will appear etc.
Logged
Chris!
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1148



WWW
« Reply #22 on: February 28, 2016, 03:04:35 AM »

New version

I think Rafael's suggestion is cool, but I don't think I can do it (and I'll explain why.)

I added a score and death by pig touch. I noticed when the bacon was up on the top, it was blinking if you were below it and riding the elevator up. So I had to simplify the elevator. Since what I had going was too much, I doubt I could fit anything that fancy in without the top of the screen blinking to death. And I already have so many variables I ran out of room for the high score variables and started using them as regular ones. This is turning out to be more complicated than I first thought it would be. Of course, some ideas have changed (like falling off the elevators and having them move by themselves), but if I were to take out that code, the game would not compile properly. So this is what it looks like now.
Logged

All my Odyssey2 projects, now in one place!
http://www.atari2600land.com/odyssey2.html
Chris!
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1148



WWW
« Reply #23 on: February 28, 2016, 05:48:55 AM »

Fixed a few bugs and added some yummy strips of bacon to the title screen.
Logged

All my Odyssey2 projects, now in one place!
http://www.atari2600land.com/odyssey2.html
Chris!
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1148



WWW
« Reply #24 on: February 28, 2016, 12:50:42 PM »

High score function added.
Even though I have used only 1,820 or so bytes, I don't have any more room to add things. It took me all night. First I discovered that you can't have characters and quads be on the same y position. Neither can you have 4 quads on the same y position. I had to test it a whole bunch of times and I got this.
Logged

All my Odyssey2 projects, now in one place!
http://www.atari2600land.com/odyssey2.html
Rene_G7400
Pedit5
I take the Videopac and leave the Canoli!
*
Posts: 2519



WWW
« Reply #25 on: February 28, 2016, 11:05:00 PM »

The menu screens of my C7060 and C7051 carts consist of 4 quads on each line. You just have to avoid character overlap. That also includes spaces. If you use spaces for some unused quad positions, they are not allowed to overlap with any other quad or character.

The standard high score function of Odyssey2/Videopac games also uses 4 quads.
Code:
0000>?????? 0000

('code' used to avoid smileys)
Logged
Chris!
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1148



WWW
« Reply #26 on: February 29, 2016, 02:09:05 AM »

OK, that explains it. I was having character overlap on the spaces which caused a whole bunch of weird issues I was having with the score not working.
Logged

All my Odyssey2 projects, now in one place!
http://www.atari2600land.com/odyssey2.html
Chris!
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1148



WWW
« Reply #27 on: February 29, 2016, 03:48:46 AM »

Extra red and/or green 0s were popping up if I pressed power off and then power back on again that weren't there when I first downloaded the game onto my C7050 cart. So I looked at my code. Looking at it, I made one little change and now the extra 0s aren't popping up any more. At least I discovered something about Soren's sample code, though, that I can change around the numbers and spaces so the code can be on the extreme left instead of near left. That's why it wasn't going to the extreme left: There were spaces there. But now I wonder what would happen if someone were to score more than 9,999 points in my game. Pretty unlikely, but still: There are people who can get a maximum 3 million points on Pac-Man...
Logged

All my Odyssey2 projects, now in one place!
http://www.atari2600land.com/odyssey2.html
Rafael
Pedit5
I take the Videopac and leave the Canoli!
*
Posts: 2502



« Reply #28 on: March 09, 2016, 01:15:01 AM »

Pig?
Logged
Janzl
Administrator
I'd sell my mother for a Videopac
*****
Posts: 2331


I now can cross that bloody street...


facebook@janzl.com
WWW
« Reply #29 on: March 09, 2016, 06:44:10 AM »

Pig?

 Cheesy

Let's call him Videopork!
Logged

Ne tirez pas sur le administrator!
Pages: 1 [2] 3   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!