Videopac / Odyssey2 forum
December 11, 2017, 09:43:46 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Al lot of attachments from Nov 2011 till april 2012 are damaged. Please ask the original poster to re-upload if you need them.
 
   Home   arcade Help Login Register links videopac.nl  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: G7000/00 - power questions  (Read 379 times)
piip4
Trying to get the cartridge in...
*
Posts: 3


« on: November 08, 2017, 01:57:42 PM »

Hi! I am new here and I was glad to discover an active community for ye olde videpak.  Smiley

My problems are the following:
Dug up dad's G7000 and find that the power supply is missing.
Decide to build own but have no knowledge of voltage requirements or + - contact points on circuit board.
Scans internet for service manuals, find one for G7000 but the circuit board and power connector is different from mine.
I've read through a bunch of related hardware posts and also seem to find conflicting info on how much voltage is needed (5v/9v)?

The sticker is quite faded but I believe it says G7000/00
https://image.ibb.co/cSWEcb/Sticker4.jpg

https://image.ibb.co/d4YSxb/Contacts2.jpg

https://image.ibb.co/ctZBOG/Contacts1.jpg

https://image.ibb.co/kcJGqw/connector_2.jpg

First of all I just want to see if this thing works and would welcome any help. Smiley
Where to solder + and - wires and how much voltage really?
This machine was bought in Norway if it helps to know.
Logged
gertk
Post Axe Pete!
*****
Posts: 842



gertk64
WWW
« Reply #1 on: November 08, 2017, 05:54:43 PM »

As far as I know the power supply is this one:

G7000 external supply

And it says 10 Volts at 1.1 Amp max.

You can safely try a stabilized 9 Volts 1 Amp adapter, just make sure the tip of the plug is the 'plus' (+)

Als make sure there is a cartridge inserted as otherwise you will get no useful picture on the RF(!) output.

Logged

>>G7000 G7200(P+S) G7400 N60 JET27 VG5000 ZX80 ZX81 ORIC-1 COMX35 Aquarius<<
piip4
Trying to get the cartridge in...
*
Posts: 3


« Reply #2 on: November 08, 2017, 06:28:18 PM »

Thanks for reply  Smiley

The power connector is unique and I have no plug that fits. You say the tip should be +?
Meaning the farthest back pin is +? Like drawn here?
https://image.ibb.co/cDrT3G/Contacts3.jpg

It's good to be certain about this
Logged
Rene_G7400
I'd sell my mother for a Videopac
********
Posts: 2507



WWW
« Reply #3 on: November 09, 2017, 09:36:55 AM »

Yes, that's correct.
The plug looks like a mono 3.5 mm audio jack.
Logged
piip4
Trying to get the cartridge in...
*
Posts: 3


« Reply #4 on: November 13, 2017, 09:01:29 AM »

Alright thank you! I wipped up some power and put in videopak 22.
This is what I got
https://image.ibb.co/eLqiaw/G7000power.jpg

I suspect it's a bad connection between the cartridge and pins.
But I'm away in a different city atm and can't diagnose further for a week or 2.
It's a fun project though and I hope to get it working properly, as well as put a composite mod in place.
Would anyone agree that it's likely the cartridge connection or am I looking at a different sort of problem?
I didn't try any other cartridges as I didn't want anything bad to happen to them in case the new power supply or old machine would treat it badly. But I seem to remember this game working ok back ~26 years.
Logged
Janzl
Administrator
I'd sell my mother for a Videopac
*****
Posts: 2201


I now can cross that bloody street...


facebook@janzl.com
WWW
« Reply #5 on: November 13, 2017, 11:14:48 AM »

I have had these kind of problems with a dirty cartridge connector. Was easily solved by cleaning it.
Don't know if this is the case with your G7000 but this kind of screen surely looks familiar.
Logged

Ne tirez pas sur le administrator!
Fleder
Trying to get the cartridge in...
*
Posts: 1


« Reply #6 on: November 17, 2017, 09:13:07 PM »

Sorry to hijack this thread, but I thought it was quite fitting.

I've got the G7000/21 with external power supply and the little power board inside.
Now, the little board is dead and I have the problem of not being able to figure out which of those three wires is which.
I think green is GND and red and blue both have +5v, is this right?

I swapped out the 7805s but now I have -3.5v out on the small board (disconnected from the mainboard) and this sounds a bit strange.

Can anybody help me here, to figure out which wire to the main board has to be which voltage and which is gnd,
so I can just wire up a 5v 2A power supply and get rid of the small board?

Thank you kindly.
Logged
gertk
Post Axe Pete!
*****
Posts: 842



gertk64
WWW
« Reply #7 on: November 18, 2017, 10:25:46 PM »

Each of the 7805's should output 5 Volt

Pinout of the 7805 is, from left to right, metal tab up, pins down, facing the text:

INPUT GND  OUTPUT

The tab is also connected to the GND pin so you can use that as reference for your (multi)meter.

Assuming you only have the powerboard connected to the power supply:

For both of the 7805's:

Between GND and INPUT you should be measuring something in the range 9 to 15 Volts.
Between GND and OUTPUT there should be a nice steady 5 Volts

You can find out which wire is GND by measuring the resistance (Ohm) of all three wires towards the metal case of the RF module.
The GND wire will have the lowest resistance (less than a few ohms). The two remaining wires are +5Volt
Logged

>>G7000 G7200(P+S) G7400 N60 JET27 VG5000 ZX80 ZX81 ORIC-1 COMX35 Aquarius<<
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!