Videopac / Odyssey2 forum
September 21, 2019, 08:02:47 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Al lot of attachments from Nov 2011 till april 2012 are damaged. Please ask the original poster to re-upload if you need them.
 
   Home   arcade Help Login Register links videopac.nl  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Chris the Cranberry  (Read 211 times)
Chris!
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1141



WWW
« on: September 13, 2019, 11:35:48 PM »

Time to get back into the Odyssey 2 scene. I'm going to make a new racing game in the style of Excitebike and MotoRodeo (more info on MotoRodeo for the 2600: https://atariage.com/software_page.php?SoftwareLabelID=1020)
I'm calling it Chris the Cranberry. Here is its title screen, all I have so far.


I got my Odyssey 2 out and it still works great.
Logged

All my Odyssey2 projects, now in one place!
http://www.atari2600land.com/odyssey2.html
Chris!
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1141



WWW
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2019, 03:42:39 AM »

Added a timer to display during the race. It works fine on a real Odyssey 2 and O2EM but for some reason runs really slow on Homer.

Logged

All my Odyssey2 projects, now in one place!
http://www.atari2600land.com/odyssey2.html
Chris!
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1141



WWW
« Reply #2 on: September 14, 2019, 06:20:51 AM »

Figured out that that timer is incorrect. This version should have a better timer, but I had to sacrifice the hundredths digit.
Logged

All my Odyssey2 projects, now in one place!
http://www.atari2600land.com/odyssey2.html
Rafael
Pedit5
I'd sell my mother for a Videopac
*
Posts: 2468



« Reply #3 on: September 14, 2019, 06:32:27 PM »

 Cool Cool Cool
Logged
Chris!
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1141



WWW
« Reply #4 on: September 15, 2019, 06:10:36 AM »

Added the first obstacle: A big box.
Logged

All my Odyssey2 projects, now in one place!
http://www.atari2600land.com/odyssey2.html
Chris!
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1141



WWW
« Reply #5 on: September 16, 2019, 03:26:35 AM »

HELP!
Suppose I want to have the boxes be various y positions.
I have this code:
Code:
boxydata:
db 029h, 039h, 049h, 059h

add a,#boxydata & 0ffh
movp a, @a ;get byte
mov r1, a

mov r0,#000h ; pointer to sprite 0 Y pos in VDC
mov r7, #1
call copyspriteloop
It works good for the first position (029h), but I can't figure out how to advance the correct number in boxydata for it to read it and make the box be in the second position listed (039h) the second time.
Code:
copyspriteloop:
mov a,r1
movp a,@a ; get byte
movx @r0,a
inc r0
inc r1
djnz r7,copyspriteloop
ret
« Last Edit: September 16, 2019, 03:34:50 AM by Chris! » Logged

All my Odyssey2 projects, now in one place!
http://www.atari2600land.com/odyssey2.html
Chris!
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1141



WWW
« Reply #6 on: September 16, 2019, 07:02:32 AM »

I figured it out. I needed to add this:
Code:
mov r1,#obstaclenumber
mov a,@r1
mov r3,a
and change that other bit of code to this:
Code:
copyspriteloop2:
mov a,r3
movp a,@a ; get byte
movx @r0,a
ret
So now I might be able to design some rudimentary tracks now. I'd like some ideas for more stuff to put in. I already put in an item that when Chris runs over he gets a short burst of speed (the green arrow thingy.) Thoughts?
Logged

All my Odyssey2 projects, now in one place!
http://www.atari2600land.com/odyssey2.html
Chris!
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1141



WWW
« Reply #7 on: September 18, 2019, 04:07:54 AM »

Time for a little update, even though nobody downloaded the previous one. I'm still working on stuff.
Logged

All my Odyssey2 projects, now in one place!
http://www.atari2600land.com/odyssey2.html
cjherr
Trying to get the cartridge in...
*
Posts: 3


« Reply #8 on: September 18, 2019, 03:30:19 PM »

Nice! I like where this is going!
Logged
Chris!
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1141



WWW
« Reply #9 on: September 19, 2019, 06:15:12 AM »

Thanks!

Can someone with a PAL tv test this latest version? I only have an NTSC TV and an Odyssey 2 so I am wondering if the sprites disappear all the way off the screen when not used because I doubled their height.
Logged

All my Odyssey2 projects, now in one place!
http://www.atari2600land.com/odyssey2.html
Chris!
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1141



WWW
« Reply #10 on: September 19, 2019, 09:48:39 PM »

Don't need a PAL tester any more. I recoded it so I don't need to worry.
I also got rid of the title screen "music" and replaced it with a countdown at the start.
Logged

All my Odyssey2 projects, now in one place!
http://www.atari2600land.com/odyssey2.html
Chris!
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1141



WWW
« Reply #11 on: September 20, 2019, 09:51:05 PM »

The first track is done.
Logged

All my Odyssey2 projects, now in one place!
http://www.atari2600land.com/odyssey2.html
Rafael
Pedit5
I'd sell my mother for a Videopac
*
Posts: 2468



« Reply #12 on: Today at 04:15:12 PM »


Doesn't look too challenging
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!