Videopac / Odyssey2 forum
January 23, 2020, 09:40:56 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: If you have some news and you want it to be shown here, pm Janzl!
 
   Home   arcade Help Login Register links videopac.nl  
Pages: 1 [2] 3   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Aerial connection for Odyssey2 in Europe  (Read 10338 times)
Rene_G7400
Pedit5
I take the Videopac and leave the Canoli!
*
Posts: 2519



WWW
« Reply #15 on: August 04, 2008, 11:56:48 AM »

The 'F' is the TV end in the U.S. (screw-type connector).
Logged
grgh
I'd sell my mother for a Videopac
********
Posts: 2279


Freedom Fighter academy dropout


george.r.g.hayward
WWW
« Reply #16 on: August 04, 2008, 11:59:32 AM »

I think the mist is clearing, I found a page for the Atari about this here:
http://www.geocities.com/atari7800mod/hookup.html
Specifically I'm looking at method 2.

I've also found a link in the UK for that radioshack product:
http://www.pixmania.co.uk/uk/uk/1147462/art/radioshack/gold-plated-f-jack-connec.html
So for under 4 quid I could get one easily.

What do you think Rene, will this do it?

=====

FYI, what I haven't told you is that my TV device is actually a PCMCIA card in my laptop:
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=160266224367&ssPageName=STRK:MEWN:IT&ih=006
This works great for a UK G7000 (PAL_I, 559250000hz) and cost ?21 with shipping.
Not only that but the video and picture capture works a treat as well  Wink More on that later...

This device shows 3 different NTSC settings, so I'm still not sure if it'll do RF:
NTSC_433
NTSC_M
NTSC_M_J

Any thoughts on that?
Logged

http://www.videopac.com/ reborn Dec-07, forever an ongoing project.
grgh
I'd sell my mother for a Videopac
********
Posts: 2279


Freedom Fighter academy dropout


george.r.g.hayward
WWW
« Reply #17 on: August 04, 2008, 12:02:39 PM »

The 'F' is the TV end in the U.S. (screw-type connector).

Oh... I see... Method 2 just went out the window  Smiley
I had just come to the conclusion that US TVs now had the same aerial connection as European, obviously not, bugger.
« Last Edit: August 04, 2008, 12:05:46 PM by grgh » Logged

http://www.videopac.com/ reborn Dec-07, forever an ongoing project.
Rene_G7400
Pedit5
I take the Videopac and leave the Canoli!
*
Posts: 2519



WWW
« Reply #18 on: August 04, 2008, 12:05:24 PM »

If you buy the Phono-to-F-connector, you will need this too:


Logged
Rene_G7400
Pedit5
I take the Videopac and leave the Canoli!
*
Posts: 2519



WWW
« Reply #19 on: August 04, 2008, 12:14:12 PM »

Looks like this adapter is already included with your TV card?


Logged
grgh
I'd sell my mother for a Videopac
********
Posts: 2279


Freedom Fighter academy dropout


george.r.g.hayward
WWW
« Reply #20 on: August 04, 2008, 12:38:30 PM »

Yes sorry I should have mentioned that, I was just trying to find one connector rather than two in order to avoid as much signal loss as possible.

So the only thing I'm not sure about right now is if this card & setup would handle the NTSC RF signal OK, any thoughts on that?
Logged

http://www.videopac.com/ reborn Dec-07, forever an ongoing project.
Rene_G7400
Pedit5
I take the Videopac and leave the Canoli!
*
Posts: 2519



WWW
« Reply #21 on: August 04, 2008, 12:58:55 PM »

So the only thing I'm not sure about right now is if this card & setup would handle the NTSC RF signal OK, any thoughts on that?

From the description of it, I think it would.
Logged
Sweersa
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1060


« Reply #22 on: August 04, 2008, 01:11:00 PM »

The "F" connector in the US is called coax or coaxial.  I didn't know it wasn't used in Europe, here it is typically used for cable TV or High Speed broadband modems. 
Logged
grgh
I'd sell my mother for a Videopac
********
Posts: 2279


Freedom Fighter academy dropout


george.r.g.hayward
WWW
« Reply #23 on: August 04, 2008, 01:22:48 PM »

Right I've ordered the gold plated thingy for a total with delivery of ?3.66, that'll take my total spend (so far) to ?24.65. It's worth a chance, so fingers crossed...

I think I might have to spend a few quid for video conversion software as well. I've checked out a couple and quite like a shareware product called AVS Video Converter (www.avsmedia.com) which costs US$40.

Does anyone know of a good piece of video software that can reduce resolution and quality (i.e. file size) thats cheaper or free Huh? AVS does Flash which is obviously handy for web pages, although I cant stop the autoplay and loop that either Dreamweaver or Firefox are doing  Undecided
Logged

http://www.videopac.com/ reborn Dec-07, forever an ongoing project.
Rene_G7400
Pedit5
I take the Videopac and leave the Canoli!
*
Posts: 2519



WWW
« Reply #24 on: August 04, 2008, 01:38:39 PM »

The "F" connector in the US is called coax or coaxial.  I didn't know it wasn't used in Europe, here it is typically used for cable TV or High Speed broadband modems. 

Our european TV connectors are called COAX too, but as you can see from the picture, they are quite different.


« Last Edit: August 04, 2008, 01:41:02 PM by Rene_G7400 » Logged
grgh
I'd sell my mother for a Videopac
********
Posts: 2279


Freedom Fighter academy dropout


george.r.g.hayward
WWW
« Reply #25 on: August 04, 2008, 01:50:09 PM »

For historical record, here is the US one I mentioned earlier in an ebay auction:

Logged

http://www.videopac.com/ reborn Dec-07, forever an ongoing project.
Sweersa
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1060


« Reply #26 on: August 04, 2008, 05:36:25 PM »

The "F" connector in the US is called coax or coaxial.  I didn't know it wasn't used in Europe, here it is typically used for cable TV or High Speed broadband modems. 

Our european TV connectors are called COAX too, but as you can see from the picture, they are quite different.




Interesting.  Looks very similar to the coax cables we used for the old 10B2 bus networks to connect computers.
Logged
Seob
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1385



« Reply #27 on: August 04, 2008, 11:44:50 PM »

Those are the cheap coax connectors found in the local diy shops. The better ones have a full metal jacket to ban rf interference.
F-connectors are also used in europe. My cable modem uses it as input for the cable signal. There also used on high-end rf amplifiers when u hookup more then 1 tv on your cable. My rf amplifier uses also the f-connector.
And our cable providers us them also in the substations to distribute the signal to your house. If you life in a new house our your cable has been updated lately you will see that it also is used to hookup the ground cable, where the rf signal comes in the house, with your arial connector in the house.
Logged

8 bits of fun
Sweersa
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1060


« Reply #28 on: August 05, 2008, 12:38:58 AM »

There is an internet (and TV, whatnot) service provider called Comcast that uses bus networks for like each street or area.  So whenever a huge load of people are downloading internet speed could be lagged and if one line gets cut they all get cut becuase of the type of bus network they use.  At least in my area that's what they do.

If I am not mistaken I believe AT&T is installing fiber optic wires for their services. 
Logged
grgh
I'd sell my mother for a Videopac
********
Posts: 2279


Freedom Fighter academy dropout


george.r.g.hayward
WWW
« Reply #29 on: August 07, 2008, 05:39:58 PM »

Right I've ordered the gold plated thingy for a total with delivery of ?3.66, that'll take my total spend (so far) to ?24.65. It's worth a chance, so fingers crossed...

FYI, I got the thingy and tried it yesterday, sure enough its the right connector to make the link with what I have already.

Unfortunately the O2 I tried didn't get picked up on any of the three NTSC options with an autoscan, so I'm going to get another O2 out in case this one just happens to be dead.

Any idea what the hz setting should be for an O2?
Logged

http://www.videopac.com/ reborn Dec-07, forever an ongoing project.
Pages: 1 [2] 3   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!