Videopac / Odyssey2 forum

Videopac / Odyssey2 => Hardware => Topic started by: ncc-1864 on January 18, 2014, 09:50:41 PM



Title: videopac g7400 + c 7420
Post by: ncc-1864 on January 18, 2014, 09:50:41 PM
well i just received my 7400 today, and i have a few questions for anyone out there. first lets talk about hook ups. i thought this would have a scart but it does not, it has a round rca type plug just like my odyssey 2. plus i have no power pack just a two prong plug that i assume is requiring a adapter for american plugs. last my unit came with a c7420  home computer module set up. again my name is don and any help would be appreciated.   


Title: Re: videopac g7400 + c 7420
Post by: VideopacBelgium on January 19, 2014, 01:26:24 AM
Hi Don,

I've made this adapter for the sync. RGB to VGA but I don't test it yet.


Title: Re: videopac g7400 + c 7420
Post by: ncc-1864 on January 19, 2014, 01:31:03 AM
sorry but i dont know the terms you are referring about. rgb to vga. should i take some pics and post? 


Title: Re: videopac g7400 + c 7420
Post by: VideopacBelgium on January 19, 2014, 01:34:13 AM
Or this adaptor (more expensive)


Title: Re: videopac g7400 + c 7420
Post by: VideopacBelgium on January 19, 2014, 01:41:47 AM
The Videopac G7400 has an SCART plug for European TV. (US TV don't have this plug)
The SCART has Red color, Green color, Blue color, signal Syncro Horizontal/Vertical. (and audio)

US TV (and others) have a VGA plug like PC monitors.
The VGA plug has Red color, Green color, Blue color, separate signal Syncro Horizontal, separate signal Syncro vertical.



Title: Re: videopac g7400 + c 7420
Post by: ncc-1864 on January 19, 2014, 02:12:25 AM
all mine has is two cords, one is i think the power cord which i just went and bought the the European to american two prong and the other cord looks just like my ody 2 cord. what the easiest way to put pictures on here?


Title: Re: videopac g7400 + c 7420
Post by: VideopacBelgium on January 19, 2014, 04:13:57 PM
Is your G7400 come from France?
The cord with plug is grey and orange? or black?
If it is grey and orange, it's a SECAM french G7400 with a RGB output (but you need the RGB cable).
If it is a black cord and plug, it is a PAL european G7400 without RGB output.


Title: Re: videopac g7400 + c 7420
Post by: ncc-1864 on January 19, 2014, 06:18:38 PM
yes the gentleman i got it from lives in Italy. all the two cords are black. i got the uro to usa plug adapter should i just hook it up and see what happens and is this c7420 unit of any regard. i was kinda stumped on how to post pictures on here.


Title: Re: videopac g7400 + c 7420
Post by: Rene_G7400 on January 19, 2014, 06:28:25 PM
all mine has is two cords, one is i think the power cord which i just went and bought the the European to american two prong and the other cord looks just like my ody 2 cord. what the easiest way to put pictures on here?

The standard G7400 has two cords: one for power (220 V AC), and one for your TV (antenna input). For the power you will need a 120V to 220 V converter, for the antenna input you will need a TV that can handle PAL signals. That will probably be a problem for US TVs: the picture frequency is different (50Hz instead of 60Hz), the color signal is different (PAL instead of NTSC) and the sound is modulated on a different frequency (5.5MHz instead of 4.5MHz).
The best option would be to make an audio/video output on the G7400 (which will solve the audio issue) and buy a converter for the video signal (which converts 50Hz PAL to 60Hz NTSC).

See also:
http://www.the-nextlevel.com/odyssey2/articles/g7400guide/index.php (http://www.the-nextlevel.com/odyssey2/articles/g7400guide/index.php)


Title: Re: videopac g7400 + c 7420
Post by: ncc-1864 on January 19, 2014, 08:25:10 PM
rene this looks very overwhelming i dont understand about 90% of what i am looking at. unless there is some information that breaks it down to laymens terms. i think i will be having a 7400 up for sell.  :(


Title: Re: videopac g7400 + c 7420
Post by: Rene_G7400 on January 19, 2014, 11:37:05 PM
Basically you need to buy two converters, one for the power, and one for the video signal. If you know that your TV or monitor can display a PAL (50Hz) video signal properly, then you won't need the video converter. You also need an audio/video (RCA) output on your G7400, but "VideopacBelgium" might have an easy plug-in solution for that.


Title: Re: videopac g7400 + c 7420
Post by: ncc-1864 on January 20, 2014, 01:33:47 AM
yes i am sure about the power converter,i think radioshack can help me on that. is there an easy way to hook up some rca jacks to the 7400  for sound? its really hard when i dont even know pal is let alone try to see if my tv is pal compatible. i have looked and i do have sets of rca jacks on the back of it that are RED WHITE RED BLUE GREEN if that helps. i did open the unit up and the black cord goes to what looks like a big ol rf modulator.


Title: Re: videopac g7400 + c 7420
Post by: Rene_G7400 on January 20, 2014, 09:50:49 AM
Yes, the black cord of the G7400 goes to an RF modulator inside the unit.

The "RED WHITE RED BLUE GREEN" jacks on your TV are probably a so-called "component" input, meant for DVD players. It is not compatible with SCART RGB.
 (Technical explanation: component is Y/R-Y/B-Y (luminance and color-difference signals), SCART has signals for R/G/B/S (red, green, blue and sync).)

Does the manual of your TV say anything about PAL and NTSC?

"VideopacBelgium" might have a module that can replace the RF modulator, then you can just unplug the connector of the RF unit and plug the new module in. You will then get a sound output (white/red RCA) and composite video output (yellow RCA).


Title: Re: videopac g7400 + c 7420
Post by: ncc-1864 on January 20, 2014, 11:16:57 AM
well he was the first person to respond, but i didnt even know what he was talking about until now, kinda?  he says he has two, one untested one expensive. if you will continue to help me through this i am sure i will eventually be able to figure this out. you know i bought one of those adapters and put it in my odyssey 2 and the pic was not as good as the rf unit and i sent the guy on ebay a email about it and he still has not got back to me. if videopacbelgium has the untested adapter do you think it would pose a threat to my unit to try it out? maybe i need to talk to him some more about it? is there a more direct way to get in touch you guys, its like 5 am for me and and bedtime for you.     


Title: Re: videopac g7400 + c 7420
Post by: Rene_G7400 on January 20, 2014, 01:53:07 PM
The two adapters that "VideopacBelgium" mentioned were RGB versions. RGB gives the best picture quality, but your TV probably doesn't have an input for it. Furthermore it would require soldering. The easiest solution for you would be a simple "composite video" and audio adapter that you can plug in after unplugging the RF modulator. (I thought he had already made such an adapter for the G7400, but I'm not sure.)


Title: Re: videopac g7400 + c 7420
Post by: ncc-1864 on January 20, 2014, 04:46:13 PM
ok, thats what i was afraid of. it looks like my quest for some plus graphics will leave me hollow inside kinda like draino. :'(