Videopac / Odyssey2 forum

Programming the Videopac / Odyssey2 => Homebrews => Topic started by: LD on December 10, 2016, 11:10:17 PM



Title: 4k Golf
Post by: LD on December 10, 2016, 11:10:17 PM
Because now 4k gaming is in the fashion.  ;D
This is a proto name, until I come with something better.

In this golf game I tried to make a really good ball physics, with proper gravity and friction.

How to play :

move Left or Right to change the direction
press Up or Down to change the club type
Hold action button to charge the power/speed, and release to hit the ball.

Well, it's a golf game, avoid water, sand, trees and rocks, if possible.

There's only 4 holes now, no sound and score yet.

This is a emulator only version, not works on real hardware (timing problems I'm trying to fix).





Title: Re: 4k Golf
Post by: Rafael on December 11, 2016, 03:06:21 PM
Great. I liked how the ball bounce on the grass and stop immediately if it touches the sand. A nice touch.


Title: Re: 4k Golf
Post by: LD on January 11, 2017, 04:14:59 PM
The game was finished and works on real hardware, but not on emulator.
I'll post a video of one previous version that runs on emulator, for those who want to know how it plays.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4P9yub_Nmus


Title: Re: 4k Golf
Post by: manopac on January 11, 2017, 04:45:32 PM
great game :-) what exactly prevents it from working on the emulator? (if I ever find time to continue work on the emulator to make it work ...)


Title: Re: 4k Golf
Post by: LD on January 11, 2017, 10:28:36 PM
Thanks.

The problem is just small visual glitch, I'm changing the grid colors to show water and sand (bunker) and the timing for 24 scanlines (12 grid pixels height) is 273 processor cycles (91 every 4 scanlines, 22.75 cycles each scanline on NTSC), the emulator this timing is a bit slow and delay some scanlines, missing the grid/color align.

If I make it to work on emulator, the timing will be too long on real hardware and the screen will not be stable as the picture will take more than 240 scanlines to draw.

Gameplay wise work on both, emulator and real hardware. :)


Title: Re: 4k Golf
Post by: manopac on January 12, 2017, 08:44:21 AM
yeah I know - timing is the biggest priority on my todo list for the emulator ... it made all the "hacks" necessary to make certain games work ... I really should restart work on o2em ...


Title: Re: 4k Golf
Post by: LD on January 12, 2017, 12:43:33 PM
I certainly will not blame you, thanks for your effort I have a viable way to quickly test my projects.
But some of my projects rely on mid screen changes and timing is very important.
Space invaders is one of them, the game just not work on real hardware, and I don't even dare to code it outside an emulator.

If you look the Kevtris doc about timing you have a good idea about all these stuffs. I'm sure the doc is somewhere this forum, if not, I can send to you. :)

I wish I could help you more.


Title: Re: 4k Golf
Post by: manopac on January 12, 2017, 02:37:10 PM
O2EM was not written by me - I just started doing changes some years ago when I noticed the same things as you writing on my game ;-) unfortunately I don't have as much time for it as I would like, so the list of stuff that needs to be done on O2EM is still long ... timing being the one with highest priority ... I do have all the info, just need to change it once I have the time ...


Title: Re: 4k Golf
Post by: LD on January 12, 2017, 10:53:50 PM
I know, O2em is a Dan Boris project. :)

Is possible to process, say, 23 cycles when scanline begins, and hault the cpu until next scanline starts?
And every 4th scanline process 22 cycles, that fix the .25 cycle off every scanline.
So make a loop of 23,23,23,22 cycles, then repeat. Don't need to be pixel perfect, if you keep the cycle amount every scanline, that's fine. :)


Title: Re: 4k Golf
Post by: daddy_scott on January 13, 2017, 07:04:59 AM
The game was finished and works on real hardware, but not on emulator.
I'll post a video of one previous version that runs on emulator, for those who want to know how it plays.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4P9yub_Nmus

I like that a lot. Will it be coming out on cart?


Title: Re: 4k Golf
Post by: LD on January 13, 2017, 02:19:00 PM
I need find someone to publish it.


Title: Re: 4k Golf
Post by: VideopacBelgium on January 13, 2017, 04:01:26 PM
I need find someone to publish it.
We can do it.  :)


Title: Re: 4k Golf
Post by: Tom Beck on January 13, 2017, 09:39:47 PM
We can do it.  :)

That were great Marc !


Title: Re: 4k Golf
Post by: LD on January 14, 2017, 12:29:36 AM
Thanks Marc!
But sadly the timing for color changes is very wrong on VideoPac too.

There is a code somewhere about VideoPac/Odyssey2 detection, maybe I can use it to detect which console the game is running and fix the code, problem I don't have a VideoPac to test it and the emulator still is not a option for it in this case.



Title: Re: 4k Golf
Post by: daddy_scott on January 14, 2017, 07:18:49 PM
Thanks Marc!
But sadly the timing for color changes is very wrong on VideoPac too.

There is a code somewhere about VideoPac/Odyssey2 detection, maybe I can use it to detect which console the game is running and fix the code, problem I don't have a VideoPac to test it and the emulator still is not a option for it in this case.

I'm not worried about the VideoPac since I've got an Odyssey2.  :D


Title: Re: 4k Golf
Post by: Tom Beck on January 14, 2017, 11:01:54 PM
I'm not worried about the VideoPac since I've got an Odyssey2.  :D

Well, that´s funny. I know, that "Star Wars- The Empire Strikes Back" run perfect only on Videopac.

So I am ok, that you get 4k Golf and we get Star Wars.   ;)


Title: Re: 4k Golf
Post by: LD on January 14, 2017, 11:20:29 PM
I do respect VideoPac owners and wish to release this game to this system.


Title: Re: 4k Golf
Post by: Rene_G7400 on January 14, 2017, 11:49:17 PM
If the game works on Odyssey2 consoles it's usually not difficult to make it run on Videopac consoles, the other way around can be much more difficult. Anyone with a C7051 cart and a Videopac console could test your game.
To get a correct synchronisation it would be necessary to check the state of T1 if you're not using the timer. Especially for G7400 and Jopac consoles, because they have separate clock circuits for the processor and the VDC.


Title: Re: 4k Golf
Post by: daddy_scott on January 17, 2017, 05:50:46 AM
Guys. You realize I was kidding, right? The snarky KC Munchkin was supposed to give it away.

I need a sarcasm sign. Lol


Title: Re: 4k Golf
Post by: Tom Beck on January 17, 2017, 09:22:25 AM
Guys. You realize I was kidding, right? The snarky KC Munchkin was supposed to give it away.

I need a sarcasm sign. Lol

Of course I understand that. We are all friends here.  :) ;) :D :-*

And we all love the same thing.  :)


Title: Re: 4k Golf
Post by: Rafael on January 17, 2017, 10:36:53 PM
The game was finished and works on real hardware, but not on emulator.
I'll post a video of one previous version that runs on emulator, for those who want to know how it plays.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4P9yub_Nmus

You forget to record the sounds ???
The sounds on this game are also great!


Title: Re: 4k Golf
Post by: LD on January 19, 2017, 12:11:16 PM
Thanks, this is an old version and the sound driver was not ready by the time of video recording.


Title: Re: 4k Golf
Post by: everett999 on February 16, 2017, 05:59:44 PM
So in the first posting, is that the .BIN for emulator or hardware?


Title: Re: 4k Golf
Post by: LD on February 16, 2017, 10:16:09 PM
Emulator only.


Title: Re: 4k Golf
Post by: LD on March 17, 2017, 02:09:11 PM
Thanks to René, the game is now working on PAL machines. :)


Title: Re: 4k Golf
Post by: ScottyDont00 on March 17, 2017, 05:04:18 PM
If this game is released please title it:         Computer Golf HD! 


Title: Re: 4k Golf
Post by: VideopacBelgium on March 17, 2017, 07:41:32 PM
For sure!
It will be released soon !  :)


Title: Re: 4k Golf
Post by: LD on March 17, 2017, 11:57:43 PM
If this game is released please title it:         Computer Golf HD! 

Why? It's same resolution as any other Odyssey2 game. Also the gameplay is nothing related to Computer Golf.
Golf Tournament is not creative but all others names that come to my mind already exist on other games.


Title: Re: 4k Golf
Post by: daddy_scott on March 18, 2017, 01:14:05 AM
It looks really good. Computer Golf is one of my faves for the system and this one takes it to a whole other level.


Title: Re: 4k Golf
Post by: LD on March 18, 2017, 01:28:33 AM
Thanks!  :)


Title: Re: 4k Golf
Post by: Rafael on March 18, 2017, 02:21:46 PM
Thanks to René, the game is now working on PAL machines. :)

Congratulations by another (great) game :)


Title: Re: 4k Golf
Post by: ScottyDont00 on March 18, 2017, 04:54:29 PM
If this game is released please title it:         Computer Golf HD! 

Why? It's same resolution as any other Odyssey2 game. Also the gameplay is nothing related to Computer Golf.
Golf Tournament is not creative but all others names that come to my mind already exist on other games.

It was just a joke!    :D


Title: Re: 4k Golf
Post by: LD on March 18, 2017, 05:26:18 PM
Congratulations by another (great) game :)

Thanks Master, if wasn't you to teach me how to code for Odyssey2, this game would not exist!

It was just a joke!    :D

Ah ok :) And I started it with 4k thing, dumb me :P