Videopac / Odyssey2 forum
May 06, 2021, 03:36:06 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Al lot of attachments from Nov 2011 till april 2012 are damaged. Please ask the original poster to re-upload if you need them.
 
   Home   arcade Help Login Register links videopac.nl  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: making a 4k game  (Read 3885 times)
Chris!
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1201



WWW
« on: July 26, 2015, 06:14:03 AM »

I'm getting closer to finding the answer, but I probably won't be able to. Stay tuned...
« Last Edit: July 26, 2015, 06:52:19 AM by Chris! » Logged

All my Odyssey2 projects, now in one place!
http://www.atari2600land.com/odyssey2.html
Chris!
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1201



WWW
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2015, 07:04:21 AM »

OK, I have these two files, and they won't work if I merge them. Why not? What am I doing wrong? Probably something with the code that jumps from one bank to the other and back again. Nobody has put a tutorial of how to make a 4k game on the internet, so I can't find out why this won't work.
Logged

All my Odyssey2 projects, now in one place!
http://www.atari2600land.com/odyssey2.html
manopac
Game & App Development
Give this man a Jopac!
*
Posts: 1148



« Reply #2 on: July 26, 2015, 02:25:54 PM »

an explanation of how it works can be found here:
http://web.archive.org/web/20121101025436/http://soeren.informationstheater.de/g7000/chapter10.html

it's not a tutorial, but it is a starting point :-)
Logged

sex, lies, and videopac
Chris!
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1201



WWW
« Reply #3 on: July 26, 2015, 03:23:33 PM »

I'm using asw.
How do I clear bit 11?
Logged

All my Odyssey2 projects, now in one place!
http://www.atari2600land.com/odyssey2.html
Rene_G7400
Moderator
I take the Videopac and leave the Canoli!
*****
Posts: 2519



WWW
« Reply #4 on: July 26, 2015, 07:07:26 PM »

If you make a 4k game, the easiest way to switch to bank 0 is by using:
anl P1,#0feh
and to go back to bank 1:
orl P1,#001h
(The game always starts in bank 1.)
With these instructions you go to the next address in the other bank, so you need to properly align your code in both banks.
Logged
Chris!
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1201



WWW
« Reply #5 on: July 26, 2015, 09:37:19 PM »

IT SHOULDN'T HAVE TO BE THIS HARD!!!!!  Angry
These two copies are exactly the same except one has alternate sprites. Why can't I make this work?
Logged

All my Odyssey2 projects, now in one place!
http://www.atari2600land.com/odyssey2.html
Chris!
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1201



WWW
« Reply #6 on: July 27, 2015, 09:04:04 PM »

I figured the thing out after hours and hours of trial and error. I don't know how I came to the conclusion, though. Like I said before, it shouldn't have to be this hard.
Logged

All my Odyssey2 projects, now in one place!
http://www.atari2600land.com/odyssey2.html
Ozyr
Totally devoted to Videopac
*******
Posts: 1514


Packrat Video Games


david.flemming.9
WWW
« Reply #7 on: July 30, 2015, 07:47:12 AM »

If it wasn't hard, everyone would be doing it. Same goes for 2600 games in assembler (not Batarti Basic). I give you credit for trying, as all others too.
Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!