Videopac / Odyssey2 forum
September 23, 2021, 10:17:21 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Al lot of attachments from Nov 2011 till april 2012 are damaged. Please ask the original poster to re-upload if you need them.
 
   Home   Help Login Register links videopac.nl  
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Hero  (Read 1864 times)
LD
Pedit5
Attacked the Timelord
*
Posts: 141



« on: June 02, 2020, 01:30:07 AM »

I'm porting Hero for Odyssey2, to keep my sanity during the quarantine.  Smiley

Here's a youtube video :

https://youtu.be/RqV1kix9CG0


Logged
cjherr
Played Munchkin once...
**
Posts: 71


« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2020, 01:56:10 AM »

VERY cool! Looks like you’ve nailed it.
Logged
Rafael
Pedit5
I take the Videopac and leave the Canoli!
*
Posts: 2723



« Reply #2 on: June 02, 2020, 04:17:44 AM »

You´re an Hero Cool
Logged
VideopacBelgium
Totally devoted to Videopac
*******
Posts: 1823



« Reply #3 on: June 02, 2020, 08:17:58 AM »

Fantastic !
Incredible !
Logged

Videopac digger
Elias
Attacked the Timelord
***
Posts: 230


« Reply #4 on: June 02, 2020, 10:07:19 AM »

Wow! Genius.One for me, please  Roll Eyes
Logged
Janzl
Administrator
I'd sell my mother for a Videopac
*****
Posts: 2406


I now can cross that bloody street...


facebook@janzl.com
WWW
« Reply #5 on: June 02, 2020, 11:58:03 AM »

Are you kidding me?! That looks amazing! As far as I can tell it plays as well as the original one.

Compliments!
Logged

Ne tirez pas sur le administrator!
immergruen
Freedom Fighter
****
Posts: 286


« Reply #6 on: June 02, 2020, 12:12:57 PM »

I can‘t believe this is a Videopac port....
That looks incredible.
Logged
timdu
Freedom Fighter
****
Posts: 311



« Reply #7 on: June 02, 2020, 12:23:04 PM »

Wow! What great detail!  Looks so close to the original Atari 2600 release

The font for the score looks different but that is OK.

Activision could have hired you to release this many years ago!  Too bad we did not have a time travel machine.
Logged
wbovela
Trying to get the cartridge in...
*
Posts: 1


« Reply #8 on: June 02, 2020, 01:15:21 PM »

I'm porting Hero for Odyssey2, to keep my sanity during the quarantine.  Smiley

Here's a youtube video :

https://youtu.be/RqV1kix9CG0


This is amazing! A very good game which ports very well to the videopac apparently!
Logged
ccc---
Post Axe Pete!
*****
Posts: 859



WWW
« Reply #9 on: June 02, 2020, 01:34:15 PM »

Wow, that looks awesome!!

One of my all-time favorites.

I hope it has the original levels and the look and feel is the same.

I am definitely in for one.

Oh and it would be incredible if someone could release this in Activision style but that won't be possible I am afraid?
Logged

LD
Pedit5
Attacked the Timelord
*
Posts: 141



« Reply #10 on: June 02, 2020, 01:48:29 PM »

Thanks for the kind words.
I don't want let you down, but it is far from complete...
For now, the level is fixed, to change the level it will require a complex bankswitch code, and I hate code bankswitch...
And the timing is not quite right on real hardware, another thing I need to address before think on a release.
« Last Edit: June 02, 2020, 03:23:56 PM by LD » Logged
minodk
Attacked the Timelord
***
Posts: 160


« Reply #11 on: June 02, 2020, 06:54:50 PM »

Well I will be Happy to Wait for this release! Looks so good.
Logged
TomBeck
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1150



« Reply #12 on: June 02, 2020, 07:51:45 PM »

After a day of work, news like this.  Cheesy  Cool

One of the best Atari2600 game for our dream machine. It look amazing. Ivan is a mastermind in making games for us, where I never thought, that this were possible. Also the last game from him (Dungeon of Eternity) is a masterpiece.

It seems to me, that Brazil is the center of our Videopac world. Without Rafael and Ivan this dark time, were much darker.

Many thanks to both of you !!!   Kiss
« Last Edit: June 02, 2020, 09:44:42 PM by TomBeck » Logged

Wink  Killed the Killer Bees  Wink
TomBeck
Give this man a Jopac!
******
Posts: 1150



« Reply #13 on: June 02, 2020, 09:27:13 PM »

For now, the level is fixed, to change the level it will require a complex bankswitch code, and I hate code bankswitch...

That`s funny. Our Rene wrote some time ago, regarding to a question from me:

"Why they have programmed Videopac 31 and 40 the way they did is still a mystery to me. Videopac 31 was the first 4k game, so maybe the programmer didn't want to use the standard bank switching, or he didn't know how it worked….. So it is a clever way to use a 4k rom without needing bank switching, but bank switching is not difficult to do and it keeps the hardware simple, so I don't see any advantages in the way they've made VP 31 and 40."

(This was the full text:http://videopac.nl/forum/index.php?topic=2666.msg26289#msg26289 )

So you see, Philips also hated bankswitching.  Cheesy
Logged

Wink  Killed the Killer Bees  Wink
LD
Pedit5
Attacked the Timelord
*
Posts: 141



« Reply #14 on: June 02, 2020, 11:53:32 PM »

Problem to do bankswitch you need to change one register (named P1) which also is the same register for enable/disable external RAM and set luminance (used for the flash explod). Most of the time I change this register results in bugs that crashes the game.
The bios routine for bank switch is cumbersome to use.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!